Excellent Shrimp Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I have made this recipe several times and everytime it comes out, well, excellent! The first time I made it I followed the recipe exactly. The last few times I've made it the only changes I've made are I use beef broth instead of water, creole seasoning instead of just chili powder and hot sauce (this way I get the flavor without the heat), and I add the seasonings while it cooks instead of at the end. I've never had a problem with it being too thick or floury/pasty tasting. If it's too thick simply add more water or whatever liquid you're using. If you're getting a pasty taste, it could be either your roux is not smooth or it may not be cooked long enough - I do cook the roux slightly longer than stated to ensure the flour taste is cooked out. At the end where it says to slow cook I turn the heat down to low to medium low with the lid on and stir occasionally. Never had a bad batch. It's great over white or brown rice or pasta. And it does make a ton of servings - way more than 6. I usually freeze the extra portions for later as it does freeze very well and the flavors develop even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA
Living In: Gray Court, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I added another can of diced tomatoes without chiles. Other then that I left everything the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
use less bell pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by billiejw89

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I took the advice of Johhny Y, and it was perfect!! I truly truly loved it!! So did my husband! I think seasoning it while its cooking versus at the end makes a tremendous difference. It was awesome and it looked like it came out of someone's restaurant:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
this really is excellent!!! i also cut down the roux to about half. i think it makes a lot more than 6 servings though. my husband and i have been enjoying for the past 2 nights, each night having seconds and there's still more for tonight! will be making this quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I cut the oil and floup in half. I used two pounds of shrimp and I thought that was plenty. I would add the chili powder and some spice while it is cooking instead of at the end. Overall I liked this recipe and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I had lost my receipe for this dish and had been searching all over for one that would come close. I could not have come closer with this one. It IS the best one around. Only thing that I do different is I add scallops to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterfliesandlilacs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Posen, Illinois, USA
Living In: Danville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
This recipe was good. I had to decrease the ingredients by half. Quick and easy to prepare, toasted garlic french roll compliments this recipe well. Served over white rice, will try pasta the next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Very Easy and Good! I like to use a mix of chicken, sausage and shrimp. I always add a pinch or two of sugar to the sauce. It's a nice balance with the spice. Everyone I have ever served this to loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
REVISED REVEIW Go Saints! Yes I'm from Nawlins myself and this is a good recipe except this way too much roux.That's the amount I use to cook a gumbo for 8-10 people!Try 1/4 that amount and brown it to a light tan color or even darker. Otherwise the end result will be way too floury and thick. I like to used chopped fresh tomatoes, especially in summer. I also add a little dry white wine. If you don't use Cajun seasonings add salt, black and red pepper to taste.PLUS chopped fresh basil and 1/2-1 tsp thymne. Adjust seasonings to taste after the ingredients have a chance to marry. Put your favorite Cajun Hot Sauce on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States