Excellent and Healthy Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
First time I made corn muffins, used this recipe and it worked well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Walter Riegler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I LOVED this recipe! I'm a Southern girl born and bred and it makes me so happy that I got such an authentic taste from ingredients I can get here in the UK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This cornbread was moist, delicious, and so easy. I am a convert, after using the same recipe for many years, this will now be my go to! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Summerfield, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Made it for a chili cook off, everyone loved it! Added a small can of corn to the mix for texture. Make it healthier by subbing a couple scoops of steiva for the sugar, & 1/2C of wheat bran or flax meal for 1/2C of the white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Just made a batch and tweaked it a bit. No sugar, but used stevia and a bit of raw honey. Added a bit of organic half-n-half and a cup of frozen organic corn. Must say, it's awesome while it's hot, with a dollop of softened butter. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I used vanilla greek yogurt (cause it was all I had). It was more muffin tasting then cornbread tasting. For what it was my husband and I liked it, but it was not cornbread like. Still yummy though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I didn't like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Elena Madrid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Honey Clover
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I actually really like this recipe; the way I made it turned out not so dry at all but very moist and flavorful. I had to alter it a bit after reading the reviews and also because I didn't have all the ingredients. I had only a 6 oz fat free vanilla flavored yogurt so I added on a small container of apple sauce (Mott's all natural) with it. Keep in mind, this is 3.9 oz of apple sauce so total was about 10 oz of flavored "liquid." I also added a tablespoon of maple/agave syrup. For dry ingredients, I used 1/2 tsp salt and switched white sugar for coconut sugar but kept everything else the same. First, I mixed the dry ingredients very, very well. Then I mixed the wet ingredients very, very well but separately. Then I made a hole in the dry ingredients and poured the wet ingredients in, mixing only enough for the dry to get a little wet. ;) This took about 15 seconds total; definitely do not over mix! Then, I spread it in an 8x8 pre-buttered baking dish (batter will be thick) and baked at 385 degrees Fahrenheit for 15 minutes. At the 15 minutes mark, I took it out and brushed a little melted butter/maple syrup mixture on top, put it back into the oven, and BROIL it on high for about 1-2 minutes. Took it out, took a bite, and oh my... it was very moist, lightly sweet, and yummy! I would make this again, exactly as I've done above. Froze the leftovers after they've cooled and now I can just bake a piece in a toaster oven whenever I want cornbread. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honey Clover

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This cornbread definitely tasted healthy. I have been making Golden Sweet Cornbread, on the site, for years. So, I had a comparison. I read the reviews and saw that some people subbed white whole wheat for all-purpose flour, so I did that. A lot of people mentioned it being dense, so I did 1/2 baking soda and 1/2 baking powder for the baking soda amount. I wanted it more sweet than savory, so I reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp. I made 10 muffins instead of a square. I reduced the temp to 375 and baked them for 18 minutes. I measured out 1 tablespoon of honey and brushed the tops of the warm muffins. The slightly crunchy honey coated top was my favorite part. Although, it was not part of the recipe. Despite doing part baking powder, they were still just a little too dense for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Have made this twice now and love it. I used whole wheat bread flour and baking powder instead of soda and omitted the salt. Like the idea of using honey which I saw some others comment they did, so thinking I will try that in place of white sugar next time. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States