Excellent and Healthy Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I'm giving this recipe 4 stars due to the changes made to the original version. I added 2 tspn. of baking soda. This healthy recipe is a keeper. I love its sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This was pretty good. I made it exactly as written! The yogurt gave it a sour dough flavor. It was perfect with "The Best Ham and Bean Soup" recipe, also from this site. I was looking for a cornbread recipe with simple ingredients that I had on hand. I also wanted it to be dense enough for dipping and this worked out fine! It wasn't too sweet which was what I also wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Very good. I used vanilla flavored yogurt and thought this was a great, healthier version of cornbread. Would make again. It doesn't make as thick of cornbread as I had expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This is a good, healthier recipe. I did add 2 Tbsp. honey with the egg and yogurt, plus 1 Tbsp. minced jarred Jalapeno. This made for a moist cornbread with a hint of sweet and heat. The reviewer who mentioned to use the "sweet mix."...DON'T use a corn bread mix. You want corn meal, which is found near the flour at the grocery store. This recipe implies that the baker is adding the other ingredients that the mix would already have in it. This may be why some recipes didn't turn out. I found the recipe to be moist, with a sponge cake consistency, sweet, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly (except I omitted the salt) and it turned out great! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This recipe does exactly what it says, and makes a mildly sweet and healthy cornbread. I don't taste the yogurt at all; I used Dannon yogurt, having found that some of the organic/natural brands of yogurt have different bacterial cultures that may result in a much more pungent flavor. The flavor and texture make it an excellent side dish with chili or similar dishes, as its denser texture will keep it from falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I really loved this, but then I love almost all cornbread recipes. Like many excellent and healthy recipes, it tastes best fresh from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I read most of the reviews before making this recipe. I used plain lowfat yogurt, and added a heaping 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder and a little extra baking soda. I also used all whole-wheat flour instead of white, and it came out great! I don't really like too-sweet cornbread, so the 1/4 C of sugar was perfect for this recipe. This was so easy to make...the key to good cornbread is to not overmix or overbake it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Delicious! Great taste and texture! I will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I have to give this a 4 because I believe reading the reviews paid off. I used 1/2 white, 1/2 wheat flour and upped the leavening agents. (1t soda and 1/2t powder). All in all, it was very good. It rose perfectly and was moist without being soupy. Thanks for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chiquita632000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States