Excellent and Healthy Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I have never made cornbread before so didn't know what to expect. Theses where really yummy not dry at all and I love the fact that they is no fat in the recipe so almost guilt free eating. Used muffin pan for this didn't have pan called for. They are lovely hot but where also very good sliced and fried in a pan next day using a little butter or butter spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Icancook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leeds, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaley_Rae
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
First success making cornbread, thank you very much. I used vanilla yogurt, 8oz [[lessened sugar to compensate]], an subbed the rest of the cup with sour cream. Follwed everything else exact. The mixture seemed quite thick, but again I've never had luck with this sort of dealio. The taste I agree could be more robust but for the health factor I raise it to a 5. Thank you very much for sharing!! I love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaley_Rae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
If you're used to doing substitutions to recipes to make things healthier, then you'll love this. I used half white sugar and half Splenda instead of all white sugar and used Activa yogurt for a bit of fiber. It turned out AWESOME. My husband even loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I like the healthy factor, but personally the taste and texture just don't compare to good ol' Jiffy cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This was good, but too dry for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brendenj
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Excellent. Used splenda, egg beaters, and the light n fit vanilla yogurt. I added a little squirt of honey but the bread was sweet from the yogurt so not sure what the honey really added. Hubby is a cornbread lover so it's nice to have a healthy alternative. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mopilot
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I made this for dinner last night and both my wife and I claimed it to be the best cornbread we'd EVER had! I followed a couple other suggestions and added a 4oz can of chopped green chilis, used whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup of frozen corn. This is fabulous! I added a photo (the one in the red casarole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mopilot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Used whole wheat flour, stone-ground whole-grain cornmeal, and organic whole plain yogurt. Used 1/2 the sugar called for. Tasted fantastic and was perfectly suited for a nutritionally conscious southern girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This was amazing ! I didn't have nonfat yogurt so I used regular yogurt, and I had to add a little milk (about 1/4 cup) because the batter was a bit thick. I only used 1/8 cup of sugar because I didn't want a very sweet cornbread, and it turned out great ! It made 13 muffins, not crumbly at all, more on the spongy side, and quite moist. Also great with some grated cheese in the batter. We had them with chili con carne for dinner, and my husband loved them. I never thought a low fat cornbread could taste so good ! Thank you very much for sharing, I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This is the best I have hgad and eay to use for other dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States