Excellent and Healthy Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I like the healthy factor, but personally the taste and texture just don't compare to good ol' Jiffy cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This was good, but too dry for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brendenj
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Excellent. Used splenda, egg beaters, and the light n fit vanilla yogurt. I added a little squirt of honey but the bread was sweet from the yogurt so not sure what the honey really added. Hubby is a cornbread lover so it's nice to have a healthy alternative. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mopilot
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I made this for dinner last night and both my wife and I claimed it to be the best cornbread we'd EVER had! I followed a couple other suggestions and added a 4oz can of chopped green chilis, used whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup of frozen corn. This is fabulous! I added a photo (the one in the red casarole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mopilot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Used whole wheat flour, stone-ground whole-grain cornmeal, and organic whole plain yogurt. Used 1/2 the sugar called for. Tasted fantastic and was perfectly suited for a nutritionally conscious southern girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This was amazing ! I didn't have nonfat yogurt so I used regular yogurt, and I had to add a little milk (about 1/4 cup) because the batter was a bit thick. I only used 1/8 cup of sugar because I didn't want a very sweet cornbread, and it turned out great ! It made 13 muffins, not crumbly at all, more on the spongy side, and quite moist. Also great with some grated cheese in the batter. We had them with chili con carne for dinner, and my husband loved them. I never thought a low fat cornbread could taste so good ! Thank you very much for sharing, I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This is the best I have hgad and eay to use for other dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Very dense, very good cornbread. I double the salt, add 1 cup of frozen corn, 1 4 oz can of fire-roasted green chiles. Otherwise, it is a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I went even farther. I omitted the sugar and baking soda. Of course it didn't rise and was not sweet but it lowered the points for weight watchers. It was absolutely excellent with the Progresso light soup I ate with it. Thank you so much for this recipe! =>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I used "rice drink" instead of milk since I am lactose intolerant. My husband and I thought it turned out very good. I definitely would make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eila

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States