Excellent and Healthy Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Delicious. Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Even though I loved the final result, I changed A LOT about this recipe. I added a can of creamed corn, cut out the sugar, and cut the yogurt by half (and used full-fat). Baked it for 20 mins and it turned out perfectly! Next time I may put a tiny bit more salt in it though. UPDATE: I have officially made this recipe 3 times with different substitutions, including the original version. The creamed corn version I outline above is absolutely the best. The creamed corn makes it so moist and perfect! The full-fat yogurt probably helped too. This is obvious, but the more damp the dough is when you put it in the oven, the less dry it will turn out. The wetter the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I made this gluten free with Better Batter instead of the unbleached flour. Otherwise made as stated and it was excellent in my recipe "Pantry Raid" Chicken Enchilada Casserole here on all recipes! Wonderful way to make a better for you recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Greek yogurt is too thick for this recipe. Will try with regular yogurt or thin Greek yogurt to prevent over mixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Delicious! My mom admitted that the texture was better than Jiffy box mix by a lot. I used vanilla yogurt and with the written amont of sugar it would be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I replaced low carb butter spread for the butter and honey for sugar. Overall I think it was pretty good. I would add extra honey next time (not quite sweet enough). My kids are used to a recipe that had 2 sticks of butter and tons of sugar. I expected them to complain, but they acted like they didn't notice....big win for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I use whole-grain corn meal (very coarse) and added 2 ears of fresh corn off the cob plus 1/4 c. honey. With the addition of either butter or honey, the bread was eaten warm from the oven, but I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by birdluv4ever
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Best. Cornbread. Ever. I made for my family and they devoured it in less than 5 minutes. Will make again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by birdluv4ever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I made this recipe with whole wheat flour and Greek yogurt (it was all I had). I had to add a splash of water (due to thickness of Greek yogurt)- maybe 1/4 cup. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as written. I used it to make corn-dog mini-muffins for my kids and it worked great for that. I just put hot dogs in the middle of each mini-muffin. I especially like that the outside crisps up well and isn't too soft. Also, the cornbread is substantial enough that it holds the hot dogs in place. The kids (ages 2, 4, and 6) ate 3 mini-muffins each, so they must be okay. I thought the cornbread was definitely "healthy-tasting" and could use a little more sweetness. I will try a little honey in it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Absolutely wonderful. I added 3 cobs of corn kernels and let it bake for an extra few minutes. This recipe has joined my list of those I will repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States