Excellent and Healthy Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I made this twice, exactly as directed. At 400 degrees, after 20 minutes I had a dried out brick. The second time I pulled it out after 12 mins and it was definitely more moist but was super dense. Not my fave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROOKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Lovely! I ate last night (with honey) and today (with maple syrup) and it stayed moist enough to enjoy again. Great texture and healthy alternative to oil. I did add a bit of honey to the batter, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue Jay Girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Good cornbread though I've used recipes on this website that I like a whole lot better. I added a quarter cup of brown sugar and had to supplement the yogurt with some sour cream because I only had a six ounce container of yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
excellent! the first time, though, i used an extra 1/2c yogurt because it seemed like it needed to be more viscous. the second time, i added a stick of butter because i wanted to see if it would be any more moist, but it didn't make a difference. the third time, i threw in some cheese and jalapenos. as you can see, i enjoyed the recipe alot in a 2 week time frame. A for flexibility and taste. oh, i forgot, i omitted the sugar because i don't like sweet cornbread. actually, the second time, i split the batter and added a 1/4c sugar to one half for my sweet-toothed hubby - he liked it. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mothertameka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I have never made cornbread before so didn't know what to expect. Theses where really yummy not dry at all and I love the fact that they is no fat in the recipe so almost guilt free eating. Used muffin pan for this didn't have pan called for. They are lovely hot but where also very good sliced and fried in a pan next day using a little butter or butter spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Icancook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leeds, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaley_Rae
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
First success making cornbread, thank you very much. I used vanilla yogurt, 8oz [[lessened sugar to compensate]], an subbed the rest of the cup with sour cream. Follwed everything else exact. The mixture seemed quite thick, but again I've never had luck with this sort of dealio. The taste I agree could be more robust but for the health factor I raise it to a 5. Thank you very much for sharing!! I love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaley_Rae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
If you're used to doing substitutions to recipes to make things healthier, then you'll love this. I used half white sugar and half Splenda instead of all white sugar and used Activa yogurt for a bit of fiber. It turned out AWESOME. My husband even loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I like the healthy factor, but personally the taste and texture just don't compare to good ol' Jiffy cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This was good, but too dry for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brendenj
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Excellent. Used splenda, egg beaters, and the light n fit vanilla yogurt. I added a little squirt of honey but the bread was sweet from the yogurt so not sure what the honey really added. Hubby is a cornbread lover so it's nice to have a healthy alternative. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States