Ex-Girlfriend's Mom's Salsa Fresca (Pico de Gallo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Amazing, best I've ever had. Thanks for the lime tip, it really does make a difference. Sorry bout the g/f!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Cut veggies small
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This was good, but I found the lime a bit overpowering, and this was after adding lime and a bit of ground cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dkunze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
IF you have any Salsa Fresca leftover the next day, use it in scrambling eggs. Just throw into heated frypan, no oil, let it heat and add whisked eggs with milk. Delish...can add cheese on top when almost done, if you like..Beats making Huevos MX....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burnt Cove, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I made this following the recipe exactly and it was wonderful! I will definitely keep this recipe and double the batch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
way too much lime- made it bitter and the red onion was over powering. I would use 1/2 c of white onion and 1/2 - 1 lime only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I went EXACTLY as the recipe stated, and I never use recipes, but I wanted to dare to be different, especially with all the rave reviews. My salsa came out sooooooo SOUR!!! I have just spent the last 3 hours trying to fix it and ended up turning it into an actual salsa with canned tomatoes and sugar and cumin to try and tame the sourness. It is still uber sour, and I am really upset about it. I'm trying to understand if all the amazing reviewers love the sourness of that much lime juice? I don't get it. And the amount of red onion is crazy! 1/2 a cup would have been plenty and I will forever use a sweet yellow onion from now on, the red onion is way too overpowering. If I am missing something from this recipe and I made a mistake, then please let me know, otherwise, this recipe is terrible in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This is my new go to recipe for Pico de Gallo. I followed the recipe and only added some extra jalepeno, which I discovered wasn't really necessary. Marinating the onion and jalepeno in the lime juice first really brings out the flavor. We even top broiled whitefish with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyCan'tCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I love this recipe, and so do all my neighbors! I use fresh tomatoes and jalapeños from my garden, add fresh garlic. I make batches that serve 24, but I do put it in the food processor because I am a busy Mom and I don't have time to hand chop. This does get better every day it sits in the fridge until it's gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I read a bunch of pico de gallo recipes before coming to this one.I skipped everyone before this because they wern't authentic pico de gallo. This is the only pico de gallo recipe I put in my recipe box. I was looking for a authentic pico de gallo & here it is, Only authentic pico de gallo recipe on this website. Garlic does not belong in pico de gallo or garlic powder or seasoning & that isn't a personal preference I have NEVER seen it made that way & I've eaten lots of pico de gallo. Just so that anyone trying to add garlic or any of that other stuff knows. Also blending the pico de gallo, well that makes it salsa, not pico de gallo. This recipe is *perfect* as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnvrlnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States