Ex-Girlfriend's Mom's Salsa Fresca (Pico de Gallo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I made this earlier today but waited to really eat it until tonight so the flavors would meld together. There will be none of this left after tonight! I made it exactly as the recipe stated, using a red jalapeno (which I prefer) and kosher salt. The measurements are right on the money. This is great by the spoonful or as an accompaniment to something else. For those who aren't used to using jalapenos, be sure to read how to handle them, and know that each jalapeno has its own level of heat even by the kind of variety. So you may want to tread carefully. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I bought one jalapeno pepper specifically for this salsa recipe. I took Marianne's suggestion and used a red jalapeno as the recipe did not specify which kind to use. I also added a couple cloves fresh garlic. I wanted a variety of textures in this salsa--I threw half of the onion, all the jalapeno, the lime juice, half of the tomatoes, the cilantro and salt in the blender and used the "ice crushing" feature to chop them into a finer consistancy. I then folded the pureed ingredients into the remaining onion and tomatoes. This was very good--the longer it sits, the better it tastes. We ate every single bit of it with our Black Bean Taco Salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Almost perfect recipe. Just needed a couple cloves of crushed garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I made this to put on our pork tacos tonight but neither Hubs nor I could keep our mitts off it, surprising since I had asked him how he liked it and he shrugged his shoulders and said, “Not really,” but then kept right on eating it. And eating it. And eating it. Actions do speaker louder than words. I cut the cilantro in half and that was plenty for our tastes. I added some minced garlic but outside of that I left all else the same. Delicious…and obviously addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Betty Dickson
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I have made my own salsa for years but never stopped to figure out the amounts, just added this and that and if there was too much this I added that to make it the right blend. Your amounts were right on. I need the recipe because I have had people ask me for mine and couldn't give them anything more than the ingredients and tell them to figure it out. Now I have it, thanks. I use sweet onion in mine. I also crush the cilantro and roll it in my palms then dice it fine before adding it. It helps distribute the flavor and make it less intense in a single bite. I also use about three medium sized green jalapenos mainly for aesthetics as the green is pleasing to the eye with the red of the tomato. I like the flavor of key lime when I can find good fresh ones though that often doesn't happen in Oregon. I use four to five. I don't marinate but am probably going to try that if I make it the same day as I will use it, usually try to make the salsa a day before for the best flavor distribution though sometimes decided on the dinner plan the day of. Also have my special ingredient that I add last after checking the spiciness. Tiger Sauce! My all time favorite hot sauce. It just add a very special flavor. I am careful about how much I add depending on who is going to eat it. Kids and some adults prefer it on a milder side so I often split mine and then spice only part of it up for the more daring side of the crowd. I also do like to add some crushed garlic, about a half teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Dickson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: North Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Amazing pico de gallo. Only addition was two cloves of garlic finely minced, added in with the onion, jalepeno and lime juice. The marinating makes it amazing, it allows the flavors to blend. Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Cornely

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Very Good! My kids dont like it chopped or chunky so I blended to a salsa but the flavor is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reesa's Fab Kitchen online

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
My mexican husband loved it and my son ate bowl after bowl after bowl. Nuff said! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita Feeda DaFamilia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I double this recipe because my family loves Pico de Gallo. I also used 3 jalapeno instead of 2 but only used 1/2 cup of cilantro because my family is not big on cilantro. It was a hit because none was left. I also add a pinch of garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlt11_NMC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I read a bunch of pico de gallo recipes before coming to this one.I skipped everyone before this because they wern't authentic pico de gallo. This is the only pico de gallo recipe I put in my recipe box. I was looking for a authentic pico de gallo & here it is, Only authentic pico de gallo recipe on this website. Garlic does not belong in pico de gallo or garlic powder or seasoning & that isn't a personal preference I have NEVER seen it made that way & I've eaten lots of pico de gallo. Just so that anyone trying to add garlic or any of that other stuff knows. Also blending the pico de gallo, well that makes it salsa, not pico de gallo. This recipe is *perfect* as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnvrlnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States