Ex-Girlfriend's Mom's Salsa Fresca (Pico de Gallo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I made this earlier today but waited to really eat it until tonight so the flavors would meld together. There will be none of this left after tonight! I made it exactly as the recipe stated, using a red jalapeno (which I prefer) and kosher salt. The measurements are right on the money. This is great by the spoonful or as an accompaniment to something else. For those who aren't used to using jalapenos, be sure to read how to handle them, and know that each jalapeno has its own level of heat even by the kind of variety. So you may want to tread carefully. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I double this recipe because my family loves Pico de Gallo. I also used 3 jalapeno instead of 2 but only used 1/2 cup of cilantro because my family is not big on cilantro. It was a hit because none was left. I also add a pinch of garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlt11_NMC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Almost perfect recipe. Just needed a couple cloves of crushed garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
this is a fantastic recipe. made it exactly as stated. it will be a staple in my household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I bought one jalapeno pepper specifically for this salsa recipe. I took Marianne's suggestion and used a red jalapeno as the recipe did not specify which kind to use. I also added a couple cloves fresh garlic. I wanted a variety of textures in this salsa--I threw half of the onion, all the jalapeno, the lime juice, half of the tomatoes, the cilantro and salt in the blender and used the "ice crushing" feature to chop them into a finer consistancy. I then folded the pureed ingredients into the remaining onion and tomatoes. This was very good--the longer it sits, the better it tastes. We ate every single bit of it with our Black Bean Taco Salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
FRESH AND EASY. SERVE WITH CHIPS. I'VE ALSO USED AS A TOPPING FOR SCRAMBLED EGGS AND ON BAKED POTATOES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Amazing pico de gallo. Only addition was two cloves of garlic finely minced, added in with the onion, jalepeno and lime juice. The marinating makes it amazing, it allows the flavors to blend. Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Cornely

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Fantastic! My family can't get enough!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jaquelynny
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
INCREDIBLE! i am df making this for my next party. i made this last night to put on top of the fajitas i made and my bf loved it too. i did add 3 cloves of chopped fresh garlic and a lil badia seasoning. just for me and my taste i would use just a tad less salt. but it wasnt overly salty. this was excatly what i wanted, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaquelynny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Rochelle, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Been making this for decades! So fresh and goes great on well, Everything! If you want it less spicy, take the seeds out of the peppers. Thanks BioTeacher!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States