Evin's Indian Apricot Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I have been using Allrecipes for a while but this is the first recipe I have felt compelled to review. While I am reluctant to build up hopes too much, this is simply one of the best things I have ever eaten, maybe the best. It is certainly the best chicken dish I have ever had. It's very easy, except that you have to find out where to score some garam masala. It's not in any grocery stores in my area. I had to find a hidden away Indian store. You can also make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Waynerc38

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marljong
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
MomZilla! I just finished *french kissing* your recipe! I had previously seasoned my salmon with S&P, onion powder, garlic powder, red pepper flakes and set it aside. I followed your directions except the chicken aspect and simmered the ingredients for 10-15 mins and poured the sauce over the baked salmon. And Oh my! It was copiously delish! I served it with brown rice and watercress salad. I believe this can be used on almost any meat/seafood with success...Thanks Evin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Sweet & Sour with the flavor of India. This cooks up in no time flat. It is wonderfully zippy and is complimented well with rice. Serve with a salad and plan on making even more next time, because there will be no leftovers tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Evin, you my friend are a star! I had a hard time finding the Garam Marsala but I prevailed at Cost Plus. I have never used it before and boy does it smell wonderful and tastes better! I made this with pork chops. I seasoned them a few hours before i cooked them. I sauteed the onions and set them aside.I added them back to the hot tub with the chops at the end. The sauce is terrific with garlic bread, for the soppin:)!! Thank you soo much Evin! Really YummO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Wowee zowee! This was amazing!!! And I just realized I had forgot to add the hot sauce. Apricot preserves and garam masala sure compliment one another nicely! Used apple cider vinegar b/c it's my preferred vinegar. I served this with a potato and pea curry, naan, and a dollop of plain Greek yogurt. Mmmm. Will definitely make this one again-and maybe remember the hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Very easy to make and very good. I didn't have fresh limes, so I mixed a little bit of lime juice in with the butter. I will probably make this again this week. I would double the amount of chicken next time. There was enough sauce to do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gyqnbc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I love this dish! I've made it twice and both times it was amazing. The only change I made was to use the sugar-free apricot preserves. I don't even like sugar-free stuff usually but it tastes great in here with less carbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emjackson81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Finally made this! Everyone liked it! I used some boneless thighs I had and it was like sweet and sour chicken. Nice citrusy flavor with a little tang. I added a little cornstarch to thicken the sauce up for a gravy with rice. Thanks Evin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
fantastic flavor and super easy. I've made this as an 'introductory dish' to indian food to both sides of our family. It goes over really well. It's sweet/sour and spiced. I serve it over rice with fresh limes to squeeze over it and cilantro if I have it. Cider vinegar is a nice substitute for the white vinegar. And just a warning...this recipe is written to make 1/4 lb of chicken per person. That's never enough...especially with a great recipe like this. Try 1/3lb. per person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Wow! I wanted a quick-to-make dinner and knew this was the recipe to try. In lieu of the hot sauce I minced up @1/2" of habanero and added @1/4 tsp ground habanero (we love our heat!) as well and subbed out the apricot jam for a mango-peach jam that I had on hand. Absolutely delicious the first night and equally so the next day for lunch! I did have to remove the cooked chicken pieces to a bowl and reduce the sauce to my desired thickness and then return the chicken to the sauce. I turned the heat off and covered the skillet and it sat for @1/2 hour until all were ready for dinner, and then reheated quickly. What a great make-ahead entree this will be! Served over white rice and with steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States