Evin's Indian Apricot Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Very tasty. I used a little over half of a cup of the apricot preserves, 3 T vinegar, and about 2/3 c. broth for the sauce. This was plenty for 1.3 lbs of chicken tenders, and reduced the sugar count. Also left out the butter. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
If you are reading this review - stop reading and MAKE this recipe!!!! This was so fabulous that I don't want to share it with anyone. My garam masala is the kind that needs to be toasted in a dry skillet and then crushed, and I think that makes all the difference. I added Hot Volcano sauce as the hot sauce. Don't skip the lime zest, it really adds to the character of this recipe. To be honest, my dish tasted like General Gao's chicken. I served it with rice that I made in a steamer with dry onion soup mix. I will be making this recipe again and again and again.!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMRINNH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I made this for dinner last night after deciding I wanted something different. The garam masala made the kitchen smell delicious. My three year old had three servings and both my husband and I have decided this will go in the regular rotation. Next time I make it, I will make sure I have basmati rice on hand since I served it over regular white rice last night and the excess starch seemed to pull the flavor down a little. Nice melding of sweet and savory spice! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I thought this was really different and tasty. I used blsl chicken breast, but I think next time I'll make it with tenders. The sauce is so good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Why did I wait so long to make this? This is fantastic and came together in about 15 minutes. The flavor is so fresh, light, spicy, sweet and savory with minimal ingredients and effort. I served it on top of couscous (unflavored as this sauce provides all the flavor you need) with a fruit salad as a side. I garnished with a little parsley and WOW! I actually caught myself licking the plate. I honestly can't wait to attack the leftovers. The sauce is very accommodating, so next time I'll experiment with adding some veggies and serve it with some naan. Thanks Evin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMF443

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Easy, fast and loved by even picky eaters. The only thing I changed was adding 2 teaspoons of lime juice versus the zest (I forgot to buy a lime at the store), and used minced garlic. Served over pine nut couscous. Next time I make this, I think I'll add a little olive oil and marinade the chicken overnight, to let the flavor soak in even more. A first Indian dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Evin, you my friend are a star! I had a hard time finding the Garam Marsala but I prevailed at Cost Plus. I have never used it before and boy does it smell wonderful and tastes better! I made this with pork chops. I seasoned them a few hours before i cooked them. I sauteed the onions and set them aside.I added them back to the hot tub with the chops at the end. The sauce is terrific with garlic bread, for the soppin:)!! Thank you soo much Evin! Really YummO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This was quite a pleasant taste, as the combination of the vinegar andpreserves balanced out each other nicely. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This was my first shot at an Indian recipe and it turned out great! I served over rice with broccoli on the side. It tastes fantastic and is easy and quick enough to serve on a weeknight. It's perfect as written, no changes necessary. Thanks for the recipe, Evin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
To die for-I would not change a thing about this recipe! I served this over the Onion Rice recipe from this site and it was the perfect balance of sweet and savory flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States