Evin's Indian Apricot Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Made this for dinner; Absolutely beautiful, everyone loved it, even the kids,and it's so rare in my house that we find something that we all enjoy so this will definitely be made again. The only thing I changed was using Kaffir lime leafs,because I had no fresh lime on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Happiness is watching your family squabble over cold leftovers! We have a large family so recipe was doubled using half chicken and half extra firm tofu. I seasoned and browned cubed tofu separately then added to sauce with the chicken for the last few minutes. Both turned out perfectly. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of five

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This was sooooo good! I followed the recipe, except I had no red hot, so I used cayenne pepper. I served it with couscous and broccoli. I steamed the broccoli in a small pot using the leftover chicken broth. All in all, this was so good and I would make it again! next time, I will maybe add some cornstarch to thicken the sauce. I also forgot the lime zest, but don't think it needed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolivar, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Really good. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Finally made this! Everyone liked it! I used some boneless thighs I had and it was like sweet and sour chicken. Nice citrusy flavor with a little tang. I added a little cornstarch to thicken the sauce up for a gravy with rice. Thanks Evin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
fantastic flavor and super easy. I've made this as an 'introductory dish' to indian food to both sides of our family. It goes over really well. It's sweet/sour and spiced. I serve it over rice with fresh limes to squeeze over it and cilantro if I have it. Cider vinegar is a nice substitute for the white vinegar. And just a warning...this recipe is written to make 1/4 lb of chicken per person. That's never enough...especially with a great recipe like this. Try 1/3lb. per person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Excellent. I followed the recipe exactly. I wouldn't make any changes. Perfect mix of sweet and sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I have been using Allrecipes for a while but this is the first recipe I have felt compelled to review. While I am reluctant to build up hopes too much, this is simply one of the best things I have ever eaten, maybe the best. It is certainly the best chicken dish I have ever had. It's very easy, except that you have to find out where to score some garam masala. It's not in any grocery stores in my area. I had to find a hidden away Indian store. You can also make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Waynerc38

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Wowee zowee! This was amazing!!! And I just realized I had forgot to add the hot sauce. Apricot preserves and garam masala sure compliment one another nicely! Used apple cider vinegar b/c it's my preferred vinegar. I served this with a potato and pea curry, naan, and a dollop of plain Greek yogurt. Mmmm. Will definitely make this one again-and maybe remember the hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Wow! I wanted a quick-to-make dinner and knew this was the recipe to try. In lieu of the hot sauce I minced up @1/2" of habanero and added @1/4 tsp ground habanero (we love our heat!) as well and subbed out the apricot jam for a mango-peach jam that I had on hand. Absolutely delicious the first night and equally so the next day for lunch! I did have to remove the cooked chicken pieces to a bowl and reduce the sauce to my desired thickness and then return the chicken to the sauce. I turned the heat off and covered the skillet and it sat for @1/2 hour until all were ready for dinner, and then reheated quickly. What a great make-ahead entree this will be! Served over white rice and with steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States