Evin's Indian Apricot Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I have been using Allrecipes for a while but this is the first recipe I have felt compelled to review. While I am reluctant to build up hopes too much, this is simply one of the best things I have ever eaten, maybe the best. It is certainly the best chicken dish I have ever had. It's very easy, except that you have to find out where to score some garam masala. It's not in any grocery stores in my area. I had to find a hidden away Indian store. You can also make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Waynerc38

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marljong
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
MomZilla! I just finished *french kissing* your recipe! I had previously seasoned my salmon with S&P, onion powder, garlic powder, red pepper flakes and set it aside. I followed your directions except the chicken aspect and simmered the ingredients for 10-15 mins and poured the sauce over the baked salmon. And Oh my! It was copiously delish! I served it with brown rice and watercress salad. I believe this can be used on almost any meat/seafood with success...Thanks Evin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Sweet & Sour with the flavor of India. This cooks up in no time flat. It is wonderfully zippy and is complimented well with rice. Serve with a salad and plan on making even more next time, because there will be no leftovers tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Wowee zowee! This was amazing!!! And I just realized I had forgot to add the hot sauce. Apricot preserves and garam masala sure compliment one another nicely! Used apple cider vinegar b/c it's my preferred vinegar. I served this with a potato and pea curry, naan, and a dollop of plain Greek yogurt. Mmmm. Will definitely make this one again-and maybe remember the hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Evin, you my friend are a star! I had a hard time finding the Garam Marsala but I prevailed at Cost Plus. I have never used it before and boy does it smell wonderful and tastes better! I made this with pork chops. I seasoned them a few hours before i cooked them. I sauteed the onions and set them aside.I added them back to the hot tub with the chops at the end. The sauce is terrific with garlic bread, for the soppin:)!! Thank you soo much Evin! Really YummO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Very easy to make and very good. I didn't have fresh limes, so I mixed a little bit of lime juice in with the butter. I will probably make this again this week. I would double the amount of chicken next time. There was enough sauce to do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gyqnbc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Finally made this! Everyone liked it! I used some boneless thighs I had and it was like sweet and sour chicken. Nice citrusy flavor with a little tang. I added a little cornstarch to thicken the sauce up for a gravy with rice. Thanks Evin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
fantastic flavor and super easy. I've made this as an 'introductory dish' to indian food to both sides of our family. It goes over really well. It's sweet/sour and spiced. I serve it over rice with fresh limes to squeeze over it and cilantro if I have it. Cider vinegar is a nice substitute for the white vinegar. And just a warning...this recipe is written to make 1/4 lb of chicken per person. That's never enough...especially with a great recipe like this. Try 1/3lb. per person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Wow! I wanted a quick-to-make dinner and knew this was the recipe to try. In lieu of the hot sauce I minced up @1/2" of habanero and added @1/4 tsp ground habanero (we love our heat!) as well and subbed out the apricot jam for a mango-peach jam that I had on hand. Absolutely delicious the first night and equally so the next day for lunch! I did have to remove the cooked chicken pieces to a bowl and reduce the sauce to my desired thickness and then return the chicken to the sauce. I turned the heat off and covered the skillet and it sat for @1/2 hour until all were ready for dinner, and then reheated quickly. What a great make-ahead entree this will be! Served over white rice and with steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I love this dish! I've made it twice and both times it was amazing. The only change I made was to use the sugar-free apricot preserves. I don't even like sugar-free stuff usually but it tastes great in here with less carbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emjackson81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States