Evin's Indian Apricot Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This was my first foray into Indian food and it was delicious.I subbed the white vinegar with cider vinegar, the lime zest with lemon zest, and the hot pepper sauce with red pepper. I served it over rice with broccoli on the side and and the whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I was a bit disappointed in this recipe. There are enough ingredients that I expected it to taste more complex but it came out flat to me. I love indian food and this didn't feed that craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Just okay. Kind of sweet for our taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Delicious and easy to make. The only thing I would recommend is to use only 1/2 cup chicken stock as the sauce was a bit runny and needed to be reduced. Excellent flavor and was enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Very good, very easy. My husband thought it needed celery and mushrooms, I thought the celery would have made a nice additions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This recipe has become one of my regulars. The only thing I do differently is that I use canned apricots instead to avoid the extra sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This was really good. I used about 1.5 lbs of chicken since I wanted it to last for two nights and didn't change anything else and it was fantastic. I forgot the lime and it was still great, but I think it would make this dish even better, adding an extra layer of flavor. Next time for sure! I served it with basmati rice (good with soaking up the extra sauce) and broccoli. We loved this dish and it was really easy. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This did come together very quick and easy. About ten minutes into making I started cooking some basmatic rice and everything finished at once. To the onion saute I also added thin slices of green pepper and fresh minced garlic. I used a lil less garam masala (1 3/4 tsp) and added some curry (1/4 tsp). I added some diced dried apricots to the preserves since mine was more jelly than fruit. I also used apple cider vinegar and a splash of balsamic instead of white vinegar. The only thing I'd change is using less vinegar next time (1-2 Tbsp) because it was a lil too tangy for me. I had to add more chicken broth and some brown sugar to even things out. It still came out great and I'm looking forward to making again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Made this for dinner; Absolutely beautiful, everyone loved it, even the kids,and it's so rare in my house that we find something that we all enjoy so this will definitely be made again. The only thing I changed was using Kaffir lime leafs,because I had no fresh lime on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Happiness is watching your family squabble over cold leftovers! We have a large family so recipe was doubled using half chicken and half extra firm tofu. I seasoned and browned cubed tofu separately then added to sauce with the chicken for the last few minutes. Both turned out perfectly. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of five

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States