Evin's Indian Apricot Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This was really good. I used about 1.5 lbs of chicken since I wanted it to last for two nights and didn't change anything else and it was fantastic. I forgot the lime and it was still great, but I think it would make this dish even better, adding an extra layer of flavor. Next time for sure! I served it with basmati rice (good with soaking up the extra sauce) and broccoli. We loved this dish and it was really easy. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This did come together very quick and easy. About ten minutes into making I started cooking some basmatic rice and everything finished at once. To the onion saute I also added thin slices of green pepper and fresh minced garlic. I used a lil less garam masala (1 3/4 tsp) and added some curry (1/4 tsp). I added some diced dried apricots to the preserves since mine was more jelly than fruit. I also used apple cider vinegar and a splash of balsamic instead of white vinegar. The only thing I'd change is using less vinegar next time (1-2 Tbsp) because it was a lil too tangy for me. I had to add more chicken broth and some brown sugar to even things out. It still came out great and I'm looking forward to making again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Made this for dinner; Absolutely beautiful, everyone loved it, even the kids,and it's so rare in my house that we find something that we all enjoy so this will definitely be made again. The only thing I changed was using Kaffir lime leafs,because I had no fresh lime on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Happiness is watching your family squabble over cold leftovers! We have a large family so recipe was doubled using half chicken and half extra firm tofu. I seasoned and browned cubed tofu separately then added to sauce with the chicken for the last few minutes. Both turned out perfectly. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of five

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This was sooooo good! I followed the recipe, except I had no red hot, so I used cayenne pepper. I served it with couscous and broccoli. I steamed the broccoli in a small pot using the leftover chicken broth. All in all, this was so good and I would make it again! next time, I will maybe add some cornstarch to thicken the sauce. I also forgot the lime zest, but don't think it needed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolivar, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Really good. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Finally made this! Everyone liked it! I used some boneless thighs I had and it was like sweet and sour chicken. Nice citrusy flavor with a little tang. I added a little cornstarch to thicken the sauce up for a gravy with rice. Thanks Evin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
fantastic flavor and super easy. I've made this as an 'introductory dish' to indian food to both sides of our family. It goes over really well. It's sweet/sour and spiced. I serve it over rice with fresh limes to squeeze over it and cilantro if I have it. Cider vinegar is a nice substitute for the white vinegar. And just a warning...this recipe is written to make 1/4 lb of chicken per person. That's never enough...especially with a great recipe like this. Try 1/3lb. per person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Excellent. I followed the recipe exactly. I wouldn't make any changes. Perfect mix of sweet and sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I have been using Allrecipes for a while but this is the first recipe I have felt compelled to review. While I am reluctant to build up hopes too much, this is simply one of the best things I have ever eaten, maybe the best. It is certainly the best chicken dish I have ever had. It's very easy, except that you have to find out where to score some garam masala. It's not in any grocery stores in my area. I had to find a hidden away Indian store. You can also make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Waynerc38

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States