Evil Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
My husband found this recipe about 31/2 yrs ago and I have to say this is the best way to cook turkey ever!!!! He uses a "bone-in" breast and cooks in a slow cooker on high for about 6hrs. He does add finely minced Thai chilies as spicy is our middle name :-) Of course fresh veggies from the garden finish it off. THE BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I rubbed the pepper puree under and over the skin as well as in the cavity before filling. I guess I was hoping for some smoky spiciness but we found this pretty bland and ended up breaking out the bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
My husband and I had this for our very first Thanksgiving together. It was amazing! So moist, and such a great change from the traditional. We used a chicken since it was just the two of us. Just checked with the thermometer to make sure it was cooked all the way. Still so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I used this recipe for one of my turkeys on thanksgiving it was a huge hit with the family. all though I did t tweak the recipe I added 1/3 of a cup of honey and instead of just a cup of whiskey I used 2 cups of crown royal maple and it gave it an amazing smoky sweet flavor with a small amount of bite at the end. I used it on a 15lbs turkey and baked at 325 for 3hours and 45 mins to ensure supreme juiciness after cooking let rest for 5 mins then carve and put all meat back in the juices and keep warm until severing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Loved the turkey. The only thing I changed was I rubbed the peppers under the skin as well and pricked the bird all over with a fork. It was excellent and went well with vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Flavor was very good! Cooked tented in foil. Next time would try the bag. Breast meat was a little dry. I had a 14 lb. turkey and cooked it for 3 1/2 hours at 325 degrees. Loved the flavor of the veggies inside the bird!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
My husband has been calling me "evil" since our 20th year and when I seen this recipe, I volunteered to make the turkey for Thanksgiving. They LOVED it!! My husband calls me "evil" still; but now I take it as a complimant! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Best turkey I've ever roasted or eaten. I changed the recipe a bit by brining the turkey for 12 hours (in mixture of water, salt, chili powder & peppercorns) before I prepped and roasted it. I also used butter in addition to the seasoning the recipe calls for, because I was roasting without a bag and needed to baste every 30 min. The turkey rocked, everyone loved it and the only issue was that it was a bit spicy on the outside, but that was ok with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I just wanted dinner for two, so I used two turkey thighs, trimmed of fat and most of the skin. I scaled the recipe for 5 servings, but upped the amount of chipotles in adobo sauce to 1.5 oz because I wanted some heat. Just minced the chipotles by hand along with the roasted red peppers, added the other ingredients, then marinated the turkey thighs in the mixture for an hour before roasting at 350 deg F for 40 min. I didn't like the smell or taste of the marinade before cooking, but loved it once it was cooked. I took the meat out of the oven when it reached 162 deg F, knowing it would rise in temp to 165 while resting. My DH thought that the spiciness didn't penetrate the meat well enough, and though I disagree, I will try this with chicken next, because he might like it better with a thinner piece of meat (he likes things really spicy.) Served with roasted veggies that I cooked in the oven along with the turkey ... I used potatoes, onion, Brussels sprouts, and carrots, and the subtle, natural sweetness of the carrots was especially good with the Evil Turkey, so next time I will add more of those, and maybe some sweet potatoes. Now I need to find recipes to use up the rest of my now opened jars of roasted red peppers and chipotle chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Every Thanksgiving I try to make a different and crazy turkey recipe. I had a lot of weird looks when I mentioned that I was using this recipe. But the turkey turned out really good, the meat was moist and flavorful. I got lots of compliments and kudos on the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States