Evil Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This is terrific. I made it a day in advance of a large family gathering. The flavors were subtle; not hot or too spicy. The meat was very moist and tasty. I used the leftovers to make the Tex Mex Soup from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I used this recipe for the stuffing but with an addition. I first fried together the chopped onion, the garlic and a fresh red bell pepper, then added the can of roasted peppers, the can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce (which I found in a Mexican grocery) and the cup of whiskey. This was the best tasting turkey I ever had, and everybody around the table was delighted. I do not eat hot or spicy food, and I was afraid that the chipotle pepper sauce would be too hot, but actually it is not, and it adds a very special flavor to the whole turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Made this last night for a group of friends and got amazing reviews! I didn't use a roasting bag because I forgot to pick one up...so I basted with the pan juices about every 30 minutes. The chiles on the top looked a little brown so I covered with foil for the remaining hour. Total cooking time was 4 1/2 hrs. Spices not overwhelming but you could still taste them! I have the remains simmering right now for soup...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
My husband found this recipe about 31/2 yrs ago and I have to say this is the best way to cook turkey ever!!!! He uses a "bone-in" breast and cooks in a slow cooker on high for about 6hrs. He does add finely minced Thai chilies as spicy is our middle name :-) Of course fresh veggies from the garden finish it off. THE BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Delicious, Unique and very outgoing recipe for a very outgoing Thanksgiving Dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Loved the turkey. The only thing I changed was I rubbed the peppers under the skin as well and pricked the bird all over with a fork. It was excellent and went well with vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I used this recipe for one of my turkeys on thanksgiving it was a huge hit with the family. all though I did t tweak the recipe I added 1/3 of a cup of honey and instead of just a cup of whiskey I used 2 cups of crown royal maple and it gave it an amazing smoky sweet flavor with a small amount of bite at the end. I used it on a 15lbs turkey and baked at 325 for 3hours and 45 mins to ensure supreme juiciness after cooking let rest for 5 mins then carve and put all meat back in the juices and keep warm until severing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
My husband has been calling me "evil" since our 20th year and when I seen this recipe, I volunteered to make the turkey for Thanksgiving. They LOVED it!! My husband calls me "evil" still; but now I take it as a complimant! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This recipe is the bomb! I was scared to death whole time it was roasting but was completely surprised when it came out great! I followed the instructions as is and you guys, it's really not spicy at all and the flavors really do come through! I completely recommend this if you're like me and looking for something with some intrigue to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by southern_rn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Crossett, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
My husband and I had this for our very first Thanksgiving together. It was amazing! So moist, and such a great change from the traditional. We used a chicken since it was just the two of us. Just checked with the thermometer to make sure it was cooked all the way. Still so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States