Evil Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I used this recipe for the stuffing but with an addition. I first fried together the chopped onion, the garlic and a fresh red bell pepper, then added the can of roasted peppers, the can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce (which I found in a Mexican grocery) and the cup of whiskey. This was the best tasting turkey I ever had, and everybody around the table was delighted. I do not eat hot or spicy food, and I was afraid that the chipotle pepper sauce would be too hot, but actually it is not, and it adds a very special flavor to the whole turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This is terrific. I made it a day in advance of a large family gathering. The flavors were subtle; not hot or too spicy. The meat was very moist and tasty. I used the leftovers to make the Tex Mex Soup from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Made this last night for a group of friends and got amazing reviews! I didn't use a roasting bag because I forgot to pick one up...so I basted with the pan juices about every 30 minutes. The chiles on the top looked a little brown so I covered with foil for the remaining hour. Total cooking time was 4 1/2 hrs. Spices not overwhelming but you could still taste them! I have the remains simmering right now for soup...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Delicious, Unique and very outgoing recipe for a very outgoing Thanksgiving Dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This recipe is the bomb! I was scared to death whole time it was roasting but was completely surprised when it came out great! I followed the instructions as is and you guys, it's really not spicy at all and the flavors really do come through! I completely recommend this if you're like me and looking for something with some intrigue to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by southern_rn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Crossett, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Every Thanksgiving I try to make a different and crazy turkey recipe. I had a lot of weird looks when I mentioned that I was using this recipe. But the turkey turned out really good, the meat was moist and flavorful. I got lots of compliments and kudos on the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I just wanted dinner for two, so I used two turkey thighs, trimmed of fat and most of the skin. I scaled the recipe for 5 servings, but upped the amount of chipotles in adobo sauce to 1.5 oz because I wanted some heat. Just minced the chipotles by hand along with the roasted red peppers, added the other ingredients, then marinated the turkey thighs in the mixture for an hour before roasting at 350 deg F for 40 min. I didn't like the smell or taste of the marinade before cooking, but loved it once it was cooked. I took the meat out of the oven when it reached 162 deg F, knowing it would rise in temp to 165 while resting. My DH thought that the spiciness didn't penetrate the meat well enough, and though I disagree, I will try this with chicken next, because he might like it better with a thinner piece of meat (he likes things really spicy.) Served with roasted veggies that I cooked in the oven along with the turkey ... I used potatoes, onion, Brussels sprouts, and carrots, and the subtle, natural sweetness of the carrots was especially good with the Evil Turkey, so next time I will add more of those, and maybe some sweet potatoes. Now I need to find recipes to use up the rest of my now opened jars of roasted red peppers and chipotle chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Best turkey I've ever roasted or eaten. I changed the recipe a bit by brining the turkey for 12 hours (in mixture of water, salt, chili powder & peppercorns) before I prepped and roasted it. I also used butter in addition to the seasoning the recipe calls for, because I was roasting without a bag and needed to baste every 30 min. The turkey rocked, everyone loved it and the only issue was that it was a bit spicy on the outside, but that was ok with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
My husband has been calling me "evil" since our 20th year and when I seen this recipe, I volunteered to make the turkey for Thanksgiving. They LOVED it!! My husband calls me "evil" still; but now I take it as a complimant! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Flavor was very good! Cooked tented in foil. Next time would try the bag. Breast meat was a little dry. I had a 14 lb. turkey and cooked it for 3 1/2 hours at 325 degrees. Loved the flavor of the veggies inside the bird!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States