Evelyn's Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Dough was not just soft, it was way to soft to roll. Once enough flour was added where rolling was possible, the cookies came out bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I've never had easier dough to roll out and cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort St. John, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Bummer... very hard to work with, after i worked it for a while then they became a little easier to pick up. Needs to flour cutters and more flour in dough. Tastes bland and I even added Almond and Vanilla extract. Won't be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I'm pretty upset, as well, that I didn't read the reviews. I "kneaded" in over a cup of flour and STILL couldn't manage this dough. I ended up rolling the dough out on my cookie sheet, laying out my cutters and then removing the excess dough b/c this dough was sticking to EVERYTHING. This recipe had me in tears and beyond frustrated. The dough tasted alright, but it's NOT worth the struggle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Koolaidemomstaci
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
The recipe for these cookies bakes up a tasty cookie, however I too thought it was just more work rolling and cutting than other recipes for cut-outs I have used, I did refrigerate dough and with some time the cookies came out very nice, I just will use a less time consuming recipe next time, but these were not a waste, like I said they were very tasty. Thank you Evelyn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koolaidemomstaci

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
these cookies came out great i do not know why the rest of the people say they came out bad i made them and they came out fine, but i do love that i don't have to chill the dough I'm making them as i wright this review for a Halloween party i really hope that the bad reviews don't discourage you from making these cookies . Thank you for reading my review and have a nice day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Just okay. They do turn out to be nice soft cookies, but the dough rolls more like biscuit dough than cookie dough, and thus i ended up adding at least 2 extra cups of flour to keep it from gluing to my surfaces. I did add 1t vanilla and 2t almond extract, so that helped with maintaining a nice flavor instead of being just a 'floury' hunk. If I tried again, I'd reduce the milk to see if I could avoid all the extra flour. Not really special alone, but an acceptable cookie when frosted. I'll keep looking for the right soft cookie though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I made these cookies exactly as written and they were a huge sticky mess! I needed to ad at least 2 more cups of flour to make it workable and the result was a dense horrible cookie. sorry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I absolutely love this roll out recipe. The dough is soft, easily malleable and has a wonderful consistancy for a roll out recipe. For me the instruction to "knead in enough flour" is wonderful because I often times find that recipes which are too strictly written do not turn out right for me. With this recipe it is more to the taste of the baker than to that of the recipe writter. What amazes me the most with this recipe is how wonderfully the dough can be rolled out thin then puff beautifully when baked. The almost cakelike consistancy when rolled thick makes them perfect for Black and White cookies. This recipe is a family favorite now in our house hold after I made christmas cookies with it last year and they didn't last longer than one afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmandaKaye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mayville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
This is NOT a good recipe for cutting cookies. It needed either MUCH more flour or much LESS liquid. Like another reviewer, I'd planned on making cut-out cookies with my daughter (husband threw away my other recipe), but we ended up just scooping it out onto the cookie sheet - it would not hold any shape and it stuck to EVERYthing. I also ended up adding 1 tsp of vanilla for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Dusty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States