Evelyn's Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Just okay. They do turn out to be nice soft cookies, but the dough rolls more like biscuit dough than cookie dough, and thus i ended up adding at least 2 extra cups of flour to keep it from gluing to my surfaces. I did add 1t vanilla and 2t almond extract, so that helped with maintaining a nice flavor instead of being just a 'floury' hunk. If I tried again, I'd reduce the milk to see if I could avoid all the extra flour. Not really special alone, but an acceptable cookie when frosted. I'll keep looking for the right soft cookie though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I made these cookies exactly as written and they were a huge sticky mess! I needed to ad at least 2 more cups of flour to make it workable and the result was a dense horrible cookie. sorry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I absolutely love this roll out recipe. The dough is soft, easily malleable and has a wonderful consistancy for a roll out recipe. For me the instruction to "knead in enough flour" is wonderful because I often times find that recipes which are too strictly written do not turn out right for me. With this recipe it is more to the taste of the baker than to that of the recipe writter. What amazes me the most with this recipe is how wonderfully the dough can be rolled out thin then puff beautifully when baked. The almost cakelike consistancy when rolled thick makes them perfect for Black and White cookies. This recipe is a family favorite now in our house hold after I made christmas cookies with it last year and they didn't last longer than one afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmandaKaye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mayville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
This is NOT a good recipe for cutting cookies. It needed either MUCH more flour or much LESS liquid. Like another reviewer, I'd planned on making cut-out cookies with my daughter (husband threw away my other recipe), but we ended up just scooping it out onto the cookie sheet - it would not hold any shape and it stuck to EVERYthing. I also ended up adding 1 tsp of vanilla for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Dusty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
This year I had my neices, nephews and sisters out for a cookie baking party. We had a blast. This is the recipe I used. It made alot of cookies. Next time I might add a little more sugar. I plan to make this my recipe every year. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I love trying new recipes, so many times when I make cookies (which is very, very frequently) I try something from this site that I've never tried before. I followed this recipe precisely, using large (not extra large) eggs and they turned out great. As usual, I didn't refrigerate the dough, but immediately rolled out cookies between two sheets of wax paper, dipped cutter into flour, cut out the cookies and placed them on foil-lined sheets. (But make sure the shiny side is down and cookies are placed on dull side. Otherwise, too much heat will be reflected and cookies will burn.) Thanks for sharing your recipe, Ingrid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
This was a horrible recipe.. I should have read the reviews, I was excited because of the no chill-but, we shouldn't have wasted our time or ingredients.... The cookies all got thrown out....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
The cookie itself was... okay. I've definately had better. The flour method was horrible though, and I ended up adding 1 cup more flour per batch to the bowl, just so it didn't stick to everything! When it was finally ready, it was VERY easy to roll out, and had a lovely texture, but it wasn't as sweet as I would have liked. I did also add almond or else it would have just been flavorless. I would either use a lot of sprinkles in future, or frosting would be even better. Oh, and it does make more cookies than listed, too. I make a quadruple batch for holiday cookies, and it ended up making 17 dozen, rather than 12. I had to give them away to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: South Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I love this recipe. The cookies are soft and fluffy and have a great sweet taste. Instead of adding just the 1 1/2 cups of sugar, i suggest adding 2 cups. Every time i make these i get requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tressap

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
I just made thses and they are really easy and good. I read many reviews that said the dough was sticky and hard to work with so I decided to leave out the milk all together. It worked perfectly. I didn't need to add any additional flour, it was perfect rolling consistancy. I also used butter instead of shortning, but that is just my preference. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Karen's Tips for Easy Rolled Sugar Cookies

Get tips for making classic cut-out cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States