Evelyn's Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I give this recipe 2 stars. My husband summed it up pretty well by saying, "they look like cookies, they smell like cookies, but they sure taste like nothing!" Also this batter was very sticky and hard to work even after refrigerating. I was looking for a soft, chewy, flavorful sugar cookie to make for Christmas. This was not the sugar cookie recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holligirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mitchell, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
The dough was only slightly thicker than a muffin batter, even after being refrigerated. The cookies distorted as I tried to place them on the cookie sheets. I added vanilla and decorated with sugar, but they were still bland! Sorry. The hunt for lactose free cookies continues...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Absolutely delectable! If you use butter shortening instead of regular, and cover in sugar they are going to fly off the plate like mine did. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Dough was not just soft, it was way to soft to roll. Once enough flour was added where rolling was possible, the cookies came out bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I've never had easier dough to roll out and cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaqi Tiechroeb
Home Town: Fort St. John, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Bummer... very hard to work with, after i worked it for a while then they became a little easier to pick up. Needs to flour cutters and more flour in dough. Tastes bland and I even added Almond and Vanilla extract. Won't be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I'm pretty upset, as well, that I didn't read the reviews. I "kneaded" in over a cup of flour and STILL couldn't manage this dough. I ended up rolling the dough out on my cookie sheet, laying out my cutters and then removing the excess dough b/c this dough was sticking to EVERYTHING. This recipe had me in tears and beyond frustrated. The dough tasted alright, but it's NOT worth the struggle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Koolaidemomstaci
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
The recipe for these cookies bakes up a tasty cookie, however I too thought it was just more work rolling and cutting than other recipes for cut-outs I have used, I did refrigerate dough and with some time the cookies came out very nice, I just will use a less time consuming recipe next time, but these were not a waste, like I said they were very tasty. Thank you Evelyn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koolaidemomstaci

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
these cookies came out great i do not know why the rest of the people say they came out bad i made them and they came out fine, but i do love that i don't have to chill the dough I'm making them as i wright this review for a Halloween party i really hope that the bad reviews don't discourage you from making these cookies . Thank you for reading my review and have a nice day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Just okay. They do turn out to be nice soft cookies, but the dough rolls more like biscuit dough than cookie dough, and thus i ended up adding at least 2 extra cups of flour to keep it from gluing to my surfaces. I did add 1t vanilla and 2t almond extract, so that helped with maintaining a nice flavor instead of being just a 'floury' hunk. If I tried again, I'd reduce the milk to see if I could avoid all the extra flour. Not really special alone, but an acceptable cookie when frosted. I'll keep looking for the right soft cookie though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Karen's Tips for Easy Rolled Sugar Cookies

Get tips for making classic cut-out cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States