Eva Claiborne's Hen and Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
closest I have found to my Granny's and my moms yet! The bf says he don't like cornbread....well...now he does! The flavor was great, i did mess up but it wont stop me from trying again...when you say thin...you mean THIN....lol will definitely work on this recipe till i get it right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Unfortunately, I found it way WAY too bland. Especially given the amount of work that goes into this, I would definitely not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I didn't realize I haven't rated this wonderful recipe! I've been using it for at least 5 years, I think. The only thing I do differently is usually using a rotisserie chicken in place of making my own. Awesome! I always make it for potlucks, especially around the holidays. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe, Smatterchu and Eva! **EDIT**wanted to add after reading other reviews that you really have to add far more broth than you usually do for a stuffing or dressing. I used 6 'grands type' biscuits, a pan of cornbread, a whole rotisserie chicken, 5 lg eggs, 1/2 T ea of sage & poultry seasoning, 1/2 t ea of seasoning salt and reg salt, plus an onion & a celery heart (chopped) & about 7 cups of chicken broth. In the recipe it explicitly says the mixture should be THIN! I had to mix this in a roasting pan, then poured some into a 9 x 13 cake pan and the rest into an 8 x 8 pan. I baked it the large one for 45 min and the small one for about 35 min and it is really REALLY good! Hope this is helpful for those who had problems with dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHY S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Heavenly comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Just like my Grandma used to make. I have used this recipe every year since her passing as it is the closest to what I can remember. I especially love the little kick the crushed red pepper gives to the recipe. I always use just cornbread, and sometimes substitute green onions for some of the regular onions. You can also use just chicken breasts if you like as these are easier to deal with than a whole chicken. Just use chicken broth instead of water when boiling the chicken breasts so you have the strength of broth. From a true southern Texas girl, I truly recommend this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I messed up by making this dressing recipe a couple of Thanksgivings ago. Now I have the make the dressing for everyone! It's a huge hit for our extended family. I've adapted the recipe by not stirring it while it bakes and adding the chicken before I put it in the oven to bake. It ends up being a very flavorful, moist, traditional southern dressing. It is a lot of work, but well worth it. My only other advice is to not overbake your biscuits and cornbread. In this recipe, dry breads = dry dressing. Follow the recipe and you'll have a winner every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Made this last thanksgiving and it was FABULOUS!! Will be making again this thanksgiving. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Similar recipe is a family favorite. Only major changes is adding poultry seasoning to water as chicken boils and adding bell pepper to the dressing. Also, mix up a day or a few hours before and let sit in fridge before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
Too, too wonderful. You can buy cornbread muffins at the bakery to speed things up a bit. The one that said it was dry obviously didn't read the directions. When she said it should be thin she meant it. It was totally moist and my whole family fought over the last bite. You can fix it ahead and freeze. My mouth is watering now. Thanks, Tara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
A lot of work and time goes into this one. Don't think I would make it again for that reason but it was very good. Maybe if the cornbread was already made. Reduced the serving size to four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Grilled Sea Bass with Chili-Lime Dressing

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-inspired grilled sea bass.

RITZ Country Fried Ribs with Ranch Dressing

See how to make the famous fried ribs created by Dinosaur Bar-B-Que.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States