Eucharistic Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2000
Tastes much like a large biscuit. A little doughy though. Crust is great however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2001
This bread is absolutley deliscious! I made it for my sister's first Communion service/party, and everyone loved it! The honey gives it a faint sweetness, and it's very, very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2001
Just as a note, this bread CANNOT be used to make Roman Catholic Communion hosts. Catholic hosts MUST be made with ONLY wheat flour and water, any other ingredients render the bread unsuitable for the Roman Catholic Mass and will invalidate the Mass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
I'm interested about the comments made by RAEVER_BOY...as a lifelong Catholic, I've eaten this kind of leavened bread at the Eucharist many times (though wafers are by far the norm.) If someone WERE to make this bread for Roman Catholic communion services, I'm sure a quick phone call to the parish priest beforehand would assuage any doubts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
I attend a Evangelical Presbyterian Church and last spring I became the deacon in charge of communion preparation. We have been using this bread since our Maundy Thursday service in 2002. We have two services on Sunday, so I upsized the recipe a little so I can make 2 small loaves for the pastor to use in the liturgy and 1 large loaf that I can cut into smaller pieces. Constantly get favorable comments on the bread. Much easier to make since I got a mixer with a bread hook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
mine was pretty dense but i didn't really mind. It was easy to make. The flavor is good and It's sweeter than I expected it to be. I made this bread one day when there was 3 feet of snow outside. I really wanted to make some bread but I didn't have any eggs, milk, or yeast. Overall I liked this bread and so did my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This is a tasty alternative to what my Protestant colleagues refer to as "styrofoam disks" in the Catholic tradition! For those preoccupied with rubrics and canonical norms, this bread is perfectly acceptable for Catholic use. The only canons referring to bread state that the bread must be made of "unblemished wheat". There is no mention of other ingredients, thus the use of this recipe is perfectly "valid", not mention delicious, for Catholic Mass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Mmmm so good. I actually made biscuits out of this recipe because the ingredients were the only ones I had. Split them up into small balls and baked at 350 for 15-20 minutes. So easy & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Just in case someone wants the exact citation: "The Code of Canon Law, Canon 924 requires that the hosts be made from wheat flour and water only." Ye Olde Wikipedia :) And the bread is good (on its own merits).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I love making this recipe! Its fun and easy to make on cold snowy days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States