Eucharistic Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I just tried it, Me and my husband LOVED it.. sure will do it many times! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Tried this recipe once before and it was way too doughy, so I tried again and added an extra cup of flour and reduced all the liquids by a bit, then after I baked it it came out golden brown on top but hadn't even started to cook on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muscatine, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Excellent and easy! I patted it out into 2 discs, pricked the top with a fork and baked until very light brown. At my church, we cut it up into bite-sized squares for communion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I recently taught the cooking rotation in our Sunday school program when the kids were learning about "Give us this day our daily bread." I quickly nixed all of the suggested bread recipes because they took too long. Instead, I used this one, which the kids (and their parents) really seemed to like. To save time, I made the dough at home, then the kids finished kneading it and shaped it into biscuit-sized loaves, which baked in 10-15 minutes. My family liked the recipe so much that I will be sure to use it again at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Quick, easy to make. Sweet bread, mine was a little doughy still in the center, which may have been from not cooking long enough. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by DarcieA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I made this recipe for the Recipe Photo contest. It is wonderful! There are so many things about it that I love. It is very quick and easy to put together, doesn't require rising time, but still has all the tasty qualities of homemade bread (the crust is delicious!) Since it is slightly sweet, we really enjoyed it with some jam on top. We will make this many time again- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarcieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I love making this recipe! Its fun and easy to make on cold snowy days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Just in case someone wants the exact citation: "The Code of Canon Law, Canon 924 requires that the hosts be made from wheat flour and water only." Ye Olde Wikipedia :) And the bread is good (on its own merits).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Mmmm so good. I actually made biscuits out of this recipe because the ingredients were the only ones I had. Split them up into small balls and baked at 350 for 15-20 minutes. So easy & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This is a tasty alternative to what my Protestant colleagues refer to as "styrofoam disks" in the Catholic tradition! For those preoccupied with rubrics and canonical norms, this bread is perfectly acceptable for Catholic use. The only canons referring to bread state that the bread must be made of "unblemished wheat". There is no mention of other ingredients, thus the use of this recipe is perfectly "valid", not mention delicious, for Catholic Mass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States