Ethiopian Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
This is definetly NOT Ethiopian chicken. Being of Ethiopian descent I was wandering how the ingredients were going to come out having an Ethiopian flavor... well it didn't. So if you're looking for Ethiopian this isn't it. The soy sauce should have been a dead give-away. As for the taste of the dish itself, I thought it bland as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
The only reason I am not giving this 5 stars is because the recipe does not direct you to marinate the chicken overnight or all day. I let it marinate for 5 hours and that was not enough. Also, be sure to keep the onions- don't throw them away after you have drained the water off! Marinate them with the chicken, bake them, and serve them. Each time I have made this dish, my guests have gone nuts for the onion pieces, which somehow do an amazing job of carrying the various flavors of clove, cinnamon, and ginger. The onions are so popular that I now use them to compliment other dishes, such as smoked fish, baked sweet potatoes, and roast turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
I was expecting "Ethiopian" flavors from the title. Having grown up in Ethiopia, I can assuredly say that this isn't Ethiopian... it's more like some kind of Asian combination from the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Two variants -- One time I ran short on soy sauce and went with 1/3 cup soy sauce and 1/3 cup white wine; family loved it--we call it Drunken Ethiopian Chicken. Also have used it on boneless thighs, just saute the thighs with the onions and then pour the sauce over and reduce, worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indian Head, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
My 9 year old son, 90 year old father-in-law and I LOVED these. You could actually taste the cinnamon and ginger. I had left out the onion because my son doesn't like them, but I used 1/2 teaspoon onion powder. Fabulous for any age.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pyrites, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Very testy but not Ethiopian. You should comeup with some other name
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
Easy, so economical, can be prepared in large volumn to be frozen and simply reheated when any occasion calls for it. Another recipe dieters can say 'thank you' for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
This was good, but it almost tasted plain. If your like me and you like a strong flavor then you will probably not like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEAUCHAT86

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
i am always looking for new ways to make chicken and this one was an instant hit with my family! the aroma is so appetizing and the taste surprising - perfectly seasoned but not too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States