Ethiopian Cabbage Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
If you tweak this recipe, as most of the reviewers have, then it is a 5 star. I wish the publisher would update it according to the reviews. Use half the oil and double all of the spices, except the salt. I will add minced garlic and minced ginger next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: La Plata, Maryland, USA
Photo by eggguru
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I have made this recipe according to the directions. Over time, I have modified it. I now use organic sweet potato instead of white potatoes. I fry the cubed sweet potato first so it holds its shape, remove it and put on paper towel to drain, add it back in after the cabbage is cooked and cover for 3 minutes more. I use double the tumeric and add 1/2 teaspoon of berbere spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eggguru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Marana, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Minced garlic, seasoning salt, black pepper and minced garlic are a must. Small chunks of potatoes work best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I doubled the spices as everyone else suggested and this dish is one of my absolute favorites! I made it 4 nights ago and I am making it again tonight! Although cornbread isn't ethiopian it pairs well with cabbage in my opinion, so I made the meal with the Vegan Agave Cornbread from this site. This dinner was a big hit at my house! Thanks for the recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Doubled spices as suggested except for salt will add more spice next time, will add potatoes with cabbage and onions next time in order to keep cabbage a little more firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Just tried this for the first time, would give it 5 stars except that I tweaked the recipe a bit. Double the spices as others said and use a bit less oil. I used curry/coriander mix as I was out of cumin, and used 3 smaller potatoes... This was DELICIOUS!, I have to stop myself from eating it all in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This stuff is GOOD. Melt in your mouth, zing it up with spiciness. I love it. I have nothing more to say than if you follow the recipe, you will have a great time eating this. I made it alongside some chicken curry and naan. Can't believe veggies are this awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I love the change to the normal fried cabbage dish, however I had to tweak a few things to my liking. I added a little more seasoning such as salt, onion powder and cumin powder, however I still fell as though something is missing. Also I think the next time I make this I will not add the cabbage until after I've added the potatoes in order to avoid the cabbage from being too wilted and overcooked. I happen to like a little crunch to may cabbage. Otherwise, it's a winner and I'll use this for our next family gathering to see what others think to determine if this will be a dish to keep on my menu for entertaining friends and family. Nevertheless I like the change indeed. Maybe just a few more tweaks to make it a true winner for my taste and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nissa01
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I've never eaten Ethiopian food but had most all of the ingredients to make this. I didn't have any white potatoes so I used the (one) sweet potato I had and I didn't have turmeric so per another reviewers advice, I used balsamic vinegar. What a wonderful flavor! This will definitely be added to my rotation. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
This was super easy and a great, filling, comfort dish. Great use for cabbage. We love spice so ate it up with a drizzle of sriracha sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States