Ethiopian Cabbage Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by sunniedm
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Hubby and I really enjoyed this dish. I did read the reviews and took some suggestions. Reviewers said 1/2 cup oil was too much so I started with 1/4 but had to add extra. Mine started to stick. Maybe they used non-stick pan & I used stainless dutch oven. I doubled all the spices as suggested except salt (1t pepper, 1t cumin, 1/2t turmeric. Some reviews said the potatoes didn't get done so they added them at the beginning. I did that plus I used red potatoes which cook faster. I shredded the carrots for faster cooking too and added 2 cloves of garlic. I cooked carrots, onions, garlic & potatoes for 5 minutes. Added the spices & cabbage and cooked COVERED for 25 min. stirring occasionally. It was excellent. I put in 1/2 lb. of kielbassa toward the end but next time will serve with ham or pork chops. That would be EXCELLENT. Thank you for a wonderful and different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunniedm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Oh wow! This is one of my new favorite vegetarian dishes, for sure. As suggested by others, I used only 1/4 oil and doubled the cumin and turmeric. I don't care for cooked carrots, so I omitted those. Instead of white potatoes, I used sweet potatoes. A shortcut is to microwave the potatoes, peel and cut into cubes, then add to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
As with other reviewers, I doubled the spices (although left salt the same) and added some garlic (about 4-5 small cloves).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I usually follow recipes as written, but as so many doubled the spices, I did too (minus the salt & pepper). The result - DELICIOUS! This was a fantastic, easy recipe we both loved, will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
this was excellent! i dbl'd the turmeric and dropped out the cumin. i also used sweet potatoes instead of white and skipped the carrots all together based on my menu. i suggest that combo--sweet pots and cabbage, yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I wish I could give this dish even more stars!! My boyfriend and I both LOVED this dish!! We did make a few changes. We doubled all of the spices except the salt, I didnt have any turmeric so none of that, we added 3 cloves of minced garlic, and a splash of red wine vinegar at the end to make up a little bit for not having turmeric. We also cooked the potatoes seperatly and added them later. WILL DEF BE MAKING AGAIN IN MY HOUSE!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seymour, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Delicious! I followed the other reviewers' suggestions and doubled the cumin and turmeric, cut down on the oil (just eyeballed it) and added a little ginger. I cooked it on low heat longer than the recipe called for and everything softened and the flavors fused together beautifully. THANKS! I needed a good cabbage recipe and this is my new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This is delicious! My husband loved it and do did I. He requested it for lunch, but there were no leftovers. Very flavorful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Double the spices minus the salt just as everyone stated. I also cut out on the oil because I wanted to save some calories and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb Kawka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I have been using allrecipes for years and this is the first time I am rating something. My family, which include my husband and two preschoolers-the harshest critics-all loved this!! I kept waiting for my husband's usual commentary of how I could improve a meal, but he said to keep everything as is! This was great!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States