Ethiopian Cabbage Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I LOVE IT. Everyone I cook this for loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This was so good! I did add some chopped garlic to it, only because I like garlic in almost everything. Love the carrots in this dish. I Just had to add a few slices, chopped bacon to this also, because I love the bacon flavor with cabbage. Also tasted before adding bacon and this is just very good as a meatless side dish. I just prefer the added flavor of bacon. Thanks for this recipe, Looking forward to making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I agree with the other comments. Double or triple the spices and add ginger to make it a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I followed the suggestions of Deeli, adding garlic and ginger and increasing the spices. I maybe tripled the turmeric. I also added a splash of chicken broth to help the potatoes get done. Next time I'm planning to make niter kibbeh and use that instead of butter. The Ethiopian name for this, for anyone interested, is atakilt wat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Living In: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sunniedm
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Hubby and I really enjoyed this dish. I did read the reviews and took some suggestions. Reviewers said 1/2 cup oil was too much so I started with 1/4 but had to add extra. Mine started to stick. Maybe they used non-stick pan & I used stainless dutch oven. I doubled all the spices as suggested except salt (1t pepper, 1t cumin, 1/2t turmeric. Some reviews said the potatoes didn't get done so they added them at the beginning. I did that plus I used red potatoes which cook faster. I shredded the carrots for faster cooking too and added 2 cloves of garlic. I cooked carrots, onions, garlic & potatoes for 5 minutes. Added the spices & cabbage and cooked COVERED for 25 min. stirring occasionally. It was excellent. I put in 1/2 lb. of kielbassa toward the end but next time will serve with ham or pork chops. That would be EXCELLENT. Thank you for a wonderful and different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunniedm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Oh wow! This is one of my new favorite vegetarian dishes, for sure. As suggested by others, I used only 1/4 oil and doubled the cumin and turmeric. I don't care for cooked carrots, so I omitted those. Instead of white potatoes, I used sweet potatoes. A shortcut is to microwave the potatoes, peel and cut into cubes, then add to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
As with other reviewers, I doubled the spices (although left salt the same) and added some garlic (about 4-5 small cloves).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I usually follow recipes as written, but as so many doubled the spices, I did too (minus the salt & pepper). The result - DELICIOUS! This was a fantastic, easy recipe we both loved, will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
this was excellent! i dbl'd the turmeric and dropped out the cumin. i also used sweet potatoes instead of white and skipped the carrots all together based on my menu. i suggest that combo--sweet pots and cabbage, yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I wish I could give this dish even more stars!! My boyfriend and I both LOVED this dish!! We did make a few changes. We doubled all of the spices except the salt, I didnt have any turmeric so none of that, we added 3 cloves of minced garlic, and a splash of red wine vinegar at the end to make up a little bit for not having turmeric. We also cooked the potatoes seperatly and added them later. WILL DEF BE MAKING AGAIN IN MY HOUSE!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seymour, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States