Ethiopian Cabbage Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Just tried this for the first time, would give it 5 stars except that I tweaked the recipe a bit. Double the spices as others said and use a bit less oil. I used curry/coriander mix as I was out of cumin, and used 3 smaller potatoes... This was DELICIOUS!, I have to stop myself from eating it all in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This stuff is GOOD. Melt in your mouth, zing it up with spiciness. I love it. I have nothing more to say than if you follow the recipe, you will have a great time eating this. I made it alongside some chicken curry and naan. Can't believe veggies are this awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I love the change to the normal fried cabbage dish, however I had to tweak a few things to my liking. I added a little more seasoning such as salt, onion powder and cumin powder, however I still fell as though something is missing. Also I think the next time I make this I will not add the cabbage until after I've added the potatoes in order to avoid the cabbage from being too wilted and overcooked. I happen to like a little crunch to may cabbage. Otherwise, it's a winner and I'll use this for our next family gathering to see what others think to determine if this will be a dish to keep on my menu for entertaining friends and family. Nevertheless I like the change indeed. Maybe just a few more tweaks to make it a true winner for my taste and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nissa01
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I've never eaten Ethiopian food but had most all of the ingredients to make this. I didn't have any white potatoes so I used the (one) sweet potato I had and I didn't have turmeric so per another reviewers advice, I used balsamic vinegar. What a wonderful flavor! This will definitely be added to my rotation. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
This was super easy and a great, filling, comfort dish. Great use for cabbage. We love spice so ate it up with a drizzle of sriracha sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I made this last night for my hubby and girls. I am a vegan, so I added garbanzo beans to mine for a complete meal. I did double the seasonings, add garlic, and I parboiled the potatoes. It wasn't clear to me in the recipe if the potatoes were to be cooked or raw. This will be a "go to" recipe for us. It would be an easy recipe to have all the veggies chopped up the night before, so you could whip it together quickly after work. I could see doing that and getting a rotisserie chicken, easy work night meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Yeah my husband and son really liked this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I stuck to the recipe but did not care for it that much, although I love cabbage and anything with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I love this dish! It is simple, easy-to-make, quick, delicious, and contains no processed ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Great tasting dish…….wife started listing all the side dishes that would be good matches, long list. I tweaked it didnt have tumeric, but I added cayenne & adobo and I eliminated the potatoes…….great flavors was had by all…...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 378) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States