Ethiopian Cabbage Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
It was a pretty good staple dinner recipe, given that I tend to have most of the ingredients on hand. I agree with the other reviewers to double the spices (not the salt).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This was simply DELICIOUS! I put more of the spices, like everyone else, and it was heavenly. My whole family loved it and said I could be the house cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Amazing! This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Awesome! I love cooked cabbage but never had any recipes to make with it. I think I'll use a whole head next time because the half really cooks up. Loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This was really good. There are already plenty of reviews, I just wanted to add another vote. Halved the oil like was recommended and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I made this for dinner today, I'm in love.... I didn't double the spices with this batch but I will try that the next time I make it. It's a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
If you tweak this recipe, as most of the reviewers have, then it is a 5 star. I wish the publisher would update it according to the reviews. Use half the oil and double all of the spices, except the salt. I will add minced garlic and minced ginger next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: La Plata, Maryland, USA
Photo by eggguru
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I have made this recipe according to the directions. Over time, I have modified it. I now use organic sweet potato instead of white potatoes. I fry the cubed sweet potato first so it holds its shape, remove it and put on paper towel to drain, add it back in after the cabbage is cooked and cover for 3 minutes more. I use double the tumeric and add 1/2 teaspoon of berbere spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eggguru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Marana, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Minced garlic, seasoning salt, black pepper and minced garlic are a must. Small chunks of potatoes work best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I doubled the spices as everyone else suggested and this dish is one of my absolute favorites! I made it 4 nights ago and I am making it again tonight! Although cornbread isn't ethiopian it pairs well with cabbage in my opinion, so I made the meal with the Vegan Agave Cornbread from this site. This dinner was a big hit at my house! Thanks for the recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States