Ethiopian Cabbage Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I made this today only I added garlic powder, a spoonful of butter, and i didnt have cumin or tumeric so I used a few sprinkles of jamaican curry powder. My kids and husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Husband and I love this recipe, but would NEVER use that much oil, EVER. Yuck. I use about two tablespoons, and, then, when needed, I add chicken broth. When the chicken broth becomes absorbed I add more, etc. I just keep checking on it. I've made it with the potatoes and without the potatoes, and both is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Turned out very well! We've been trying more plant-based meals and this is both savory and filling! Used about 2 tbsp oil and some water instead of 1/2 cup of oil, also added more cumin and tumeric. Someone suggested Ginger which I'll have to try next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SakiFiz
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I really enjoyed this. Made for a tasty dinner. I did follow the recommendations and double the cumin and turmeric. I also did half olive oil and half butter just out of personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SakiFiz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This is DELICIOUS! I was afraid of what my husband might think, but he loved it too. I would definitely reduce the oil. I put in more spice too. Be careful of the tumeric, everything it touches turnes yellow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyrts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Really tasty. Made it with baby carrots I had on hand. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
'Had to use up potatoes & always looking for good cabbage dishes so I went & bought the $5 jar of tumeric in hopes I'd like this. I followed suggestions doubling pepper & tumeric. The directions seemed off so I did my thing: Sauteed onion in 1/4c olive oil about 5 minutes, then stirred in spices. Then stirred in potatoes. Then cabbage. Cooked that ten minutes, semi-covered. Added the carrots, fifteen more, semi-covered. Good directions, but the dish wasn't all that impressive. 'Guess I'm not a big tumeric fan. 'Not that it was bad, just not too flavorful. We'll have some as is & the rest in soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This is a hearty and satisfying dish that surpassed my expectations! My husband adored it and has already asked for it again. I did make some changes. First of all, I used a pot and not a skillet. I omitted the salt and most of the oil (used a water/oil saute method). As for spices, I added 1 teaspoon of "rasel hanout", a Moroccan spice blend that I found on Amazon (sorry, I did not have an Ethiopian spice blend on hand), and I would definitely use it again. I also added more cumin and pepper to taste. As for the main ingredients, I used uncut baby carrots instead of sliced. (Lazy!) Next time I will use regular carrots, sliced, and I will start by cooking the potatoes with the onions first to give them a 15-20 minute head start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Great Recipe! Next time Ii would only use 1/2 the amount of spices. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
We love it every time we make it. Very flexible -- could be served with meat or tofu or just as is. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States