Ethiopian Cabbage Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
3.5 stars, really; I ended up roughly doubling the spices (including the garlic and ginger another commentor noted) and the first night it was quite good. As leftovers, though, the spices seemed to evaporate and even with more added it was never as good again. I would say it's best in small dishes, about half of the listed recipe unless there will be several people to share it that first time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I was looking to use up some cabbage in my fridge and found this recipe. Didn't have turmeric so added a pinch of curry powder and a splash of balsamic instead. Doubled the cumin and added a little extra salt and pepper. Also threw in some red pepper for spice. Turned out great! Cheap, easy. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Good way to use cabbage and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Excellent. I am Indian so was skeptical but this dish is really nice. Need to follow the correct sequence with time. Cabbage then potato and cover at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This recipe is pretty close to the Ethiopian veggies at the restaurants I've eaten at. Made a version once that called for a ton of nutmeg. Caution... run away from versions that call for nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
So tasty! I used a little too much cabbage and tripled the spices, also halved the oil and added turkey burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I make many things for my family and most of the time they have some type of change I should make to better the recipe. However, this recipe made the cut! They agreed no changes were needed :-) THANK YOU! it was nice to finally hear all positive and nothing that needed to be changed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I loved this dish. I reduced the oil to 1/4 c and doubled the tumeric. The only thing I would change for next time is either putting in less potatoes or more cabbage. THe potatoes kind of took over the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Cardenas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lyndhurst, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I try to fix something my wife doesn't on the evenings I fix dinner & this fit the bill. As others recommended, I used 1/2 the oil & doubled the spices & it was GREAT! I chopped the cabbage instead of shredding it & put in the carrots & potatoes as per the instructions and they were perfect. Tender, but not mushy at all. The only thing I changed was I left the skin on the potatoes. This was the main dish with a nice fruit & yogurt salad to "cleanse the palate'" during the meal. A SAVER for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Very good. Very tasty. Love a new way of cooking familiar vegetables. Seems like it could be great with scrambled eggs and toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 378) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States