Ethiopian Cabbage Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Made with couscous delicious, double spices, half oil, add garlic and ginger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Very good. Reduced the oil by half and doubled the seasoning except for the salt as suggested by reviewers. Will make again with even less oil. Served as a side for Peri Peri African Chicken also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Simple and tasty! I think you can get away with using less oil, though....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I cut the olive oil as suggested by other reviewers and skipped the turmeric because I didn't have any on hand. This is a nice cabbage recipe. My 15 y/o even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Delicious! Will definitely save and use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I LOVE IT. Everyone I cook this for loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This was so good! I did add some chopped garlic to it, only because I like garlic in almost everything. Love the carrots in this dish. I Just had to add a few slices, chopped bacon to this also, because I love the bacon flavor with cabbage. Also tasted before adding bacon and this is just very good as a meatless side dish. I just prefer the added flavor of bacon. Thanks for this recipe, Looking forward to making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I agree with the other comments. Double or triple the spices and add ginger to make it a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I followed the suggestions of Deeli, adding garlic and ginger and increasing the spices. I maybe tripled the turmeric. I also added a splash of chicken broth to help the potatoes get done. Next time I'm planning to make niter kibbeh and use that instead of butter. The Ethiopian name for this, for anyone interested, is atakilt wat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Living In: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sunniedm
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Hubby and I really enjoyed this dish. I did read the reviews and took some suggestions. Reviewers said 1/2 cup oil was too much so I started with 1/4 but had to add extra. Mine started to stick. Maybe they used non-stick pan & I used stainless dutch oven. I doubled all the spices as suggested except salt (1t pepper, 1t cumin, 1/2t turmeric. Some reviews said the potatoes didn't get done so they added them at the beginning. I did that plus I used red potatoes which cook faster. I shredded the carrots for faster cooking too and added 2 cloves of garlic. I cooked carrots, onions, garlic & potatoes for 5 minutes. Added the spices & cabbage and cooked COVERED for 25 min. stirring occasionally. It was excellent. I put in 1/2 lb. of kielbassa toward the end but next time will serve with ham or pork chops. That would be EXCELLENT. Thank you for a wonderful and different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunniedm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States