Ethiopian Cabbage Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I love Ethiopian food because it is so spicey,however, I doubled the spices(suggested by someone else)but I believe I could have put more in. Also can anyone tell me what stops it from sticking to pan. I had to add water. (cooked on an electric stove on simmer)I put cabbage and potatoes in at the same time took about 25 mins to cook. I am going to try it again but with garlic and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I made this tonight for dinner- it was sooooo good served with rice... my only changes were adding a little extra of the cumin and tumeric and then I used sliced unpeeled small red potatoes. Wonderful dish that I will definately make again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorieb

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Exceeded my expectations! Doubled the tumeric and added 3 cloves garlic. Also threw in some beer because it started sticking to the bottom. Served with Spice rubbed pork chops and sauteed apples. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Nothing to contribute except it was surprisingly good. Definitely recommend this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
3.5 stars, really; I ended up roughly doubling the spices (including the garlic and ginger another commentor noted) and the first night it was quite good. As leftovers, though, the spices seemed to evaporate and even with more added it was never as good again. I would say it's best in small dishes, about half of the listed recipe unless there will be several people to share it that first time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I was looking to use up some cabbage in my fridge and found this recipe. Didn't have turmeric so added a pinch of curry powder and a splash of balsamic instead. Doubled the cumin and added a little extra salt and pepper. Also threw in some red pepper for spice. Turned out great! Cheap, easy. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Good way to use cabbage and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Excellent. I am Indian so was skeptical but this dish is really nice. Need to follow the correct sequence with time. Cabbage then potato and cover at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This recipe is pretty close to the Ethiopian veggies at the restaurants I've eaten at. Made a version once that called for a ton of nutmeg. Caution... run away from versions that call for nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
So tasty! I used a little too much cabbage and tripled the spices, also halved the oil and added turkey burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 372) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States