Estrellita Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alycja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Excellent! Great BBQ or potluck salad that is different than what you usually see. Tastes the best with fresh garden cucumbers and tomatos. Only used 1/2 cup or so of Catalina salad dressing as we like our food less saucy so the veggies shine through. I substituted a red pepper as I don't like green and used 2 cups of thawed frozen corn instead of canned. I also rinsed the olives after I drained them. Add the corn chips just before serving (or let everyone add their own). This salad doesn't keep very long as the cukes get soft etc. Best if eaten the same day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Wonderful!!! I've been trying lately to get my children to eat more vegetables. They're so used to the same old stuff, so I when I found this recipe I was so excited to try it. It uses lots of veggies (not just lettuce) and really entices my kids by using cheese and corn chips. Even my husband was impressed. Everyone in my family went back for seconds of this salad. I've never used catalina, but the sweetness of it brings everything together and then constrasts with the chips. So delicous! I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This is amazing! It was so good I could not get to sleep thinking about having it again! I served as a side dish to a picky group who claim not to like veggies, and all of them loved it! Definitely serve the chili cheese chips on the side to add. I used leftover grilled corn, and added black beans, avocado and used less Catalina. Other than doubling the recipe so I have plenty for lunch the next day, I wouldn't change a thing. Thank you so much Mrs. Potts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Wow! Loved this. I made a few changes...instead of black olives, I added a can of rinsed, drained black beans, 1/2 bunch fresh cilantro, chopped, and replaced half the catalina with italian dressing. The changes made it taste like an improved version of my favorite corn and black bean salsa. Must try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
It is a wonderful summer salad! Even my dad really liked it and he is the most picky eater ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
We loved this salad. I made it pretty much like the recipe with a couple exceptions made solely on the basis of personal preference. Omitted green pepper because I don't like it. Omitted cheese because I didn't think it would add to the taste and thought I would save the fat/calories in this case. If I had used it I was thinking I might cube it rather than use shredded cheese. I also substituted the catalina dressing with a basic vinaigrette. I didn't have catalina dressing and the vinaigrette sounded so fresh tasting. Loved the fritos. I thought about adding tortilla chips but the fritos made the salad in my opinion. Even though I varied the recipe, I think it is an all-star recipe. I do hope to try catalina dressing at some point. I almost forgot - when I read the recipe I thought it had a can of black beans in it. Even though it didn't, I added them anyway and would definitely do so again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This is a great salad. Made it for a grill out and everone loved it. I made two changes -- added Black Beans and just before serving added chopped Avocado. I made quite a bit so with the left over's I added chopped cooked chicken and a small pasta. This is definitely a keeper and so healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wakefield, Michigan, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This is delicious! For a more substantial main dish I think taco seasoned ground turkey or beef would make an excellent addition :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This is really good!! I have so many green peppers, tomatoes, green onions and cucumbers in my garden and no clue what to do with them. This was perfect. Tastes like something my grandma made out of her garden goodies when I was a kid... I didn't use the olives, beans instead. (This is weird, but I was out of beans in the cupboard so I washed off the beans from a can of bush's baked beans (original) and added them minus the piece of pork-It worked great) And I grated the cheddar myself because its softer that way than store bought. Goes perfect with the crunchy chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States