Essence of Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
I had a birthday dinner for my cousin this past Sunday. All 4 of my guest and myself included really liked everything about this recipe. I gave everyone a small loaf to take home with them. It was simple and delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BELEDONA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
Nice and easy - I'll use this all the time for everyday bread. If it is too yeasty for your taste, try proofing the yeast with a small amount of the water and adding a little bit of honey. The problem (if it was sticky) was probably not the yeast but the moisture content. Just add a bit of flour in and it'll come together just fine. Obviously using bread flour is important since AP really won't work here. A little butter or egg wash over the top might help the appearance a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
This bread is chewy and flavorful. I like to shape it into a dozen mini loaves and bake them on a cookie sheet. These make excellent rolls for pasta dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
Easy - no kneading! quick, and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
The recipe was ALMOST all it promised. It was easy to make, yeasty, coarse-textured, but only slightly crusty, and a bit dense. Apparently, this is just not the recipe I was looking for. Although I added the salt, it must have needed more. Before today, I had never before sprinkled salt on bread, to make it taste good! I added 1/2 cup flour, because I wasn't sure the dough was supposed to be so very sticky. I thought maybe I should really add more, but didn't since this was the first time I've tried the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
Too yeasty, when it comes together it is very sticky and cannot be kneaded properly - the Kitchenaid could not form it into a ball, odd directions. Too simple - needs more directions to clarify process and apperance of dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
This bread was very tasty with a nice crust. It made delicious toast! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
pretty good basic bread, easy and tastes good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This was a really good basic bread recipe. I was making the Paul Bunyan Burgers from this site and this bread stood up really well to the burger. Did not fall apart. Very nice. I halved the recipe and made 6 large buns out of it. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Photo by Miss Heidi
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I just made this bread. It was easy, although my bread didn't rise all the way it came out pretty good an will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States