Essence of Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
This was good crusty bread. Made great sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Decent bread and very easy. Needed more liquid, so I added about a tablespoon of oil to the mix first, then added enough liquid for it to come together. Bakes up large loafs, but they aren't all that grainy--a good thing with my husband, who is pretty picky. Pretty tasty overall. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss Heidi
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I just made this bread. It was easy, although my bread didn't rise all the way it came out pretty good an will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This was a really good basic bread recipe. I was making the Paul Bunyan Burgers from this site and this bread stood up really well to the burger. Did not fall apart. Very nice. I halved the recipe and made 6 large buns out of it. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
The recipe was ALMOST all it promised. It was easy to make, yeasty, coarse-textured, but only slightly crusty, and a bit dense. Apparently, this is just not the recipe I was looking for. Although I added the salt, it must have needed more. Before today, I had never before sprinkled salt on bread, to make it taste good! I added 1/2 cup flour, because I wasn't sure the dough was supposed to be so very sticky. I thought maybe I should really add more, but didn't since this was the first time I've tried the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
Nice and easy - I'll use this all the time for everyday bread. If it is too yeasty for your taste, try proofing the yeast with a small amount of the water and adding a little bit of honey. The problem (if it was sticky) was probably not the yeast but the moisture content. Just add a bit of flour in and it'll come together just fine. Obviously using bread flour is important since AP really won't work here. A little butter or egg wash over the top might help the appearance a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
Too yeasty, when it comes together it is very sticky and cannot be kneaded properly - the Kitchenaid could not form it into a ball, odd directions. Too simple - needs more directions to clarify process and apperance of dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
I had a birthday dinner for my cousin this past Sunday. All 4 of my guest and myself included really liked everything about this recipe. I gave everyone a small loaf to take home with them. It was simple and delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BELEDONA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
This bread was very tasty with a nice crust. It made delicious toast! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
This bread is chewy and flavorful. I like to shape it into a dozen mini loaves and bake them on a cookie sheet. These make excellent rolls for pasta dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States