Espresso Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I doubled the espresso as suggested, but still don't really taste it. That being said these are very good. I also left out the apricots and chocolate chips and dipped in chocolate instead. The dough is pretty stiff and difficult to mix all the goodies into so I just dumped it on the counter and kneaded them in. Also, I wish I would have flattened the logs even more so they would be long thin slices. I thought I went to about an inch, but I was a little over and it does rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I thought this was a good recipe. I used it in some mailed cookie boxes for Christmas. I like how there is so much going on flavor wise. The orange zest flavor is pretty dominant and I liked that. The colors arent so vibrant like on the marichino cherry ones. I actually labeled what was in them, on the gift packages, because its hard to tell. Only change I made was halving the fruit and chopping it up. I also just chopped whole almonds. For the coffee I used starbucks instant Christmas blend grind. Lastly, I used cake flour and salted butter. The 2" width, on the shaping, seemed small. I went with approximately 2.5." I suggest that, because they dont puff up much larger after the first bake. They still are a smaller biscotti. I had no issues with cutting them which was nice. I hope the food gift is liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Very good recipe! I agree with some others that a little less all-purpose flour is better (I don't have pastry four), otherwise the cookies crumble while cutting, and a bit more regular instant coffee works too. I like this recipe also because it is easy to add or remove ingredients as needed - I will use this without the almonds for someone who cannot eat nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I've been spending a small fortune on biscotti, no more! These are delicious and so easy to make! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Perfection! I always get rave reviews when I make these biscotti. They are very easy to make, and the dough isn't as sticky as some other biscotti recipes I've tried -- makes it easier to knead the dough. The only tweaks I make is to double up on the espresso, skip the dried apricots and add a 1/4 cup more of each of the chocolate, almonds and cranberries (personal preference). When forming the logs, I like to angle the top and bottom edges of the dough so that when you cut them diagonally, you don't waste too much of the cookie. After it is twice baked and cooled, I like to dip some of the cookies in ganache chocolate (See Chocolate Ganache Recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krykket

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This recipe is wonderful with a cup of coffee. It’s not sweet and the combination of fruit and chocolate work well. I added in some left-over dried cherries in addition to the cranberries and apricots which added additional fruitiness. I used all-purpose flour which worked out fine. To add a little extra sweetness and prettiness, I laced the biscotti with a confection sugar icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Good recipe. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
There are a lot of flavors going on but they complement each other very well. I drizzled mine with melted chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Very Good! An acquaintance asked me if I made these biscotti to sell because if I did she wanted to buy some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
cant keep them in the house. have made them several times. this time it was with hazelnuts ... wonderful as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States