Espresso Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cherrychip
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This was my first time making biscotti and these were delicious! I made a few changes based on what I had on hand- I used salted butter instead of unsalted butter, 2 tsps instant coffee since I couldn't find instant espresso, 1/4 tsp. orange extract instead of the zest, and 3 1/8 cup all purpose flour. I drizzled the biscotti with melted white chocolate and chocolate when they were cool. I really liked the combination of flavors in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherrychip

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This is definitely a favorite! It was hard to not eat the dough and the cookie after the 1st baking! The combination of dried cranberries, almonds, and chocolate is wonderful! I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because I found I needed to tweak it. The dough was too dry & crumbly, so I added a splash of milk so I could manage the dough. Also, I couldn't taste the coffee, so I would increase that. I do think the chocolate brings out the coffee flavor a bit. This is a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Very Good! An acquaintance asked me if I made these biscotti to sell because if I did she wanted to buy some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
cant keep them in the house. have made them several times. this time it was with hazelnuts ... wonderful as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
There are a lot of flavors going on but they complement each other very well. I drizzled mine with melted chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Perfection! I always get rave reviews when I make these biscotti. They are very easy to make, and the dough isn't as sticky as some other biscotti recipes I've tried -- makes it easier to knead the dough. The only tweaks I make is to double up on the espresso, skip the dried apricots and add a 1/4 cup more of each of the chocolate, almonds and cranberries (personal preference). When forming the logs, I like to angle the top and bottom edges of the dough so that when you cut them diagonally, you don't waste too much of the cookie. After it is twice baked and cooled, I like to dip some of the cookies in ganache chocolate (See Chocolate Ganache Recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krykket

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This recipe is wonderful with a cup of coffee. It’s not sweet and the combination of fruit and chocolate work well. I added in some left-over dried cherries in addition to the cranberries and apricots which added additional fruitiness. I used all-purpose flour which worked out fine. To add a little extra sweetness and prettiness, I laced the biscotti with a confection sugar icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Good recipe. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I've been spending a small fortune on biscotti, no more! These are delicious and so easy to make! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States