Espiros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
I talked to my vovo and she said do not use egg whites in this recipe. You are only supposed to use the egg whites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
I am an experienced baker, and I beat this mixture for 40 minutes on high speed with a stand mixer....it never got beyond a soupy mess. Desparate, I added cream of tartar, then an extra egg...no luck! Sounded good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zigmondo
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
My portugues grandmother also made these. They are nearly classic meringues, in our family always topped with those little silver candies that look like BB's. My grandmother made these with the left over egg whites from malasadas or masa. The recipe that I am reading shows 12 eggs. If you use the egg yolks, you will end up with flat sweet scrambled egg cookies. I used egg whites not whole eggs,sugar, salt, orange juice as instructed but added lemon rind, because my grandmother added lemon rind to everything. I cooked mine for about an hour, then left them in the warm oven for another 30 to 45 minutes. They were not as good as my grandmothers, but she had 40+ more years cooking experience than me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I just love this desert. But you should try orange peel no orange juice. And the name is SUSPIRO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rio De Janeiro, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
recipe is incorrect MUST use only egg whites NOT entire egg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Only use the egg whites, not the entire egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This recipe as some already have stated, is not made with the "Whole Egg" just the "Whites". It is a awesome Meringue Cookie if don't properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
We had several egg whites left over from a different cooking project. What a perfect find! Did have fresh oranges so we used the juice and the zest. (Zest in the meringue--sorry didn't measure.) Also added creame of tarter as meringues should have anyway. Very nummy! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
There is no such thing as "Espiros"...the correct word/name is "SUSPIROS"...but the recipe is pretty passable. Born and raised in Portugal, I ought to know!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
PLZ only use egg whites, plus I added 1 tsp of cream of tarter and I baked mine for about an 1 hour to 1 1/2. You want them to melt in your mouth. I followed the rest of the recipe as far as the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States