Espinacas con Garbanzos (Spinach with Garbanzo Beans) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Wow! This was terrific. I used a bag of fresh spinach and cooked the onion and garlic first, then added the garbanzo beans and cooked them with, mashing them a bit, then added the fresh spinach and wilted it with salt and cumin. I served it with baked lemon salmon and it was divine!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Spinach, garbanzo beans, garlic, olive oil - all flavors I grew up up with and love. Cumin is relatively new to me, but I love it too. I thought I'd have a winner here with this recipe, but I've learned that just because you love a variety of flavors doesn't mean they all belong together. For me, this was just perfect and excellent until the addition of the cumin, which just didn't seem to work well with the spinach. I found the cumin and spinach an "off" combination. I used fresh baby spinach so I didn't have any problem with the dryness other reviewers noted, but I can easily see where this would be an issue with frozen spinach. Oh, I know I'll make this again, because dishes like this are so familiar and just the way I grew up learning to eat and to cook - but I'll reserve the cumin for another time, in a different dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This is a good basic recipe when you don't have a lot of time or if you're too tired want to cook. I usually don't use the cumin and substitute it for rosemary. When I have them on hand, I will add canned diced tomatoes and even adding a splash of red wine brings a lot of depth and flavor to this recipe. Simple ingredients and cooking at its best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
OMG!!! This is a FANTASTIC and easy recipe! I used fresh spinach as I prefer fresh over frozen and I did not mush the garbanzos as I like mine whole. I followed the recipe to a "T" and did make any additions or ommissions, was done in less time than it took to grill my salmon that accompanied it! Awesome Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
This was easy to make and tasted fantastic! I doubled it and added a cup of water and a chicken bullion cube for a little extra juiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
My husband I LOVE this and make it all the time! I do make a few changes though... After sautéing the garlic and onion, I add the beans and mash most of them with a fork (this tastes better if most of the beans are mashed). Then I add chopped fresh spinach in batches, covering with a lid after each addition until wilted. Once all the spinach has been added, I season with cumin, salt (1/4 tsp is plenty), and a little red pepper. I cook the mixture covered for about 5 more minutes, stirring every minute or so. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
WOW. First off I will say that I not by any means a spinach lover unless it is covered in some kind of cheese, but this recipe was fantastic. The only thing I changed was a little extra garlic, and some chicken broth at the end of cooking because it started to get very dry. Next time I will mash the beans before I put them in the pan and add a little ground black pepper/. Overall great recipe, will definatly make a regular dish, even the kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Very interesting dish, needed a little more flavor in my opinion. I'm a big lover of spinach and I added some cheddar cheese to this dish and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
very good a bit salty... used fresh spinach... woke well with South African Yellow Rice... very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharChar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
i've made this a couple of times now, and as much as i love cumin, i feel it is a little too earthy and didn't work well for me in this dish. i must have squeezed the spinach too much in an effort to "drain well," as it was very dry. after tasting it, i added some lemon pepper and feta cheese and i liked it much more. i prefer using the whole onion, fresh lemon zest and a pinch of cayenne. a squeeze of fresh lemon at the end also really brightens this dish. great recipe to tweak to your tastes, and feel healthy doing it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zeebee
Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States