Espinacas con Garbanzos (Spinach with Garbanzo Beans) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Ridiculously easy and quick. Perfect for a light dinner. In fairness, I was being super lazy and impatient and left out the onion, so it was flavored only by the salt, cumin and garlic, but I loved it. Spooned it on small pieces of crusty baguette. Couldn't be more pleased with adding this one to the make-dinner-fast arsenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This is super fast and easy to make and tastes delicious. I added about twice as much cumin as it called for because it is my favorite spice. It paired well as a side dish to grilled chicken but I also had a similar dish at a restaurant with fish. Next time I might try adding some sun dried tomatoes to add a contrasting color. I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This was very tasty. I gave it a 4 instead of a 5 because there was a LOT of garlic in it, which I think would turn some people off. I also used fresh spinach instead of frozen (10 ounces I think).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lessssy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Awesome recipe! I added a can of tomatoes as recommended by another reviewer. I also added a dash of five spice powder. Is VERY glad my husband is not a vegetable eater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I thought I would really like this, since I love the two main ingredients, but it turned out dry and didn't seem that flavorful. It needs some sauce or something. If I try it again, I'll add bouillon and/or more onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I thought this recipe was very delicious, healthy and fresh tasting. I lowered the oil to 1 tsp, and the recipe tasted very good, however since I like a little extra zest I added a can of diced tomatoes right at the end to give it a little extra liquid and zing. Either way it is a really good vegetarian/vegan main dish or side dish. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I have made this dish twice now and love it every time. Even my husband and sons, who don't like spinach enjoy it. The only difference I did was to use fresh spinach. Great recipe to try and incorporate spinach into our diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I don't know what makes this simple dish sooo good but it is! By mistake I used Curry instead of Cumin and I'm glad I did! I loved this! I served it over warm brown rice. Yummmm!! Almost forgot ... 1/2 onion looked like way to much so I probably only used 1/4 of one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Espinacas con Garbanzos' Haiku: "I thought this was great! (I didn't 'lightly mash' beans.) Simple, graceful taste." I followed the recipe exactly, using fresh spinach instead of frozen, and since I love the texture of garbanzo beans, I didn't lightly mash them. I thought that I'd serve this side dish w/ grated cheese or hot sauce, but it stood wonderfully on its own - I really liked the addition of cumin, but I think that that particular spice could be swapped for another depending on the "theme" of your meal; for instance, if your main dish is an italian chicken, basil could stand in for cumin, and what-not. (This versatility, and the ease of preparation, will make this recipe a keeper in my book!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Loved this! I admit I was hesitant to add the cumin in this recipe so instead of adding the 1/2 tsp I just shook a little on it and then tasted. I really liked the flavor so I added the rest! This recipe is super fast. My husband thought it was a little bland so maybe a little more cumin next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cawael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Byron, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States