Espinacas con Garbanzos (Spinach with Garbanzo Beans) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Ridiculously easy and quick. Perfect for a light dinner. In fairness, I was being super lazy and impatient and left out the onion, so it was flavored only by the salt, cumin and garlic, but I loved it. Spooned it on small pieces of crusty baguette. Couldn't be more pleased with adding this one to the make-dinner-fast arsenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This is super fast and easy to make and tastes delicious. I added about twice as much cumin as it called for because it is my favorite spice. It paired well as a side dish to grilled chicken but I also had a similar dish at a restaurant with fish. Next time I might try adding some sun dried tomatoes to add a contrasting color. I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This was very tasty. I gave it a 4 instead of a 5 because there was a LOT of garlic in it, which I think would turn some people off. I also used fresh spinach instead of frozen (10 ounces I think).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lessssy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Awesome recipe! I added a can of tomatoes as recommended by another reviewer. I also added a dash of five spice powder. Is VERY glad my husband is not a vegetable eater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I thought I would really like this, since I love the two main ingredients, but it turned out dry and didn't seem that flavorful. It needs some sauce or something. If I try it again, I'll add bouillon and/or more onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I thought this recipe was very delicious, healthy and fresh tasting. I lowered the oil to 1 tsp, and the recipe tasted very good, however since I like a little extra zest I added a can of diced tomatoes right at the end to give it a little extra liquid and zing. Either way it is a really good vegetarian/vegan main dish or side dish. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I have made this dish twice now and love it every time. Even my husband and sons, who don't like spinach enjoy it. The only difference I did was to use fresh spinach. Great recipe to try and incorporate spinach into our diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I don't know what makes this simple dish sooo good but it is! By mistake I used Curry instead of Cumin and I'm glad I did! I loved this! I served it over warm brown rice. Yummmm!! Almost forgot ... 1/2 onion looked like way to much so I probably only used 1/4 of one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Espinacas con Garbanzos' Haiku: "I thought this was great! (I didn't 'lightly mash' beans.) Simple, graceful taste." I followed the recipe exactly, using fresh spinach instead of frozen, and since I love the texture of garbanzo beans, I didn't lightly mash them. I thought that I'd serve this side dish w/ grated cheese or hot sauce, but it stood wonderfully on its own - I really liked the addition of cumin, but I think that that particular spice could be swapped for another depending on the "theme" of your meal; for instance, if your main dish is an italian chicken, basil could stand in for cumin, and what-not. (This versatility, and the ease of preparation, will make this recipe a keeper in my book!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Loved this! I admit I was hesitant to add the cumin in this recipe so instead of adding the 1/2 tsp I just shook a little on it and then tasted. I really liked the flavor so I added the rest! This recipe is super fast. My husband thought it was a little bland so maybe a little more cumin next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cawael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Byron, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States