Escarole Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I make a recipe very similar to this, except I use stewed tomatoes, bulk italian sausage, and onion... delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This was good but I felt that there was way too much sausage. If I make this again, I would definitely only use one pound of sausage and only 48 oz. of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I want to give this more stars! What an amazing soup. I like spicy foods, so I use spicy Italian sausage for the meatballs. I also add some garlic and Italian seasoning to the meatballs. Absolutely delicious!!! I make it again, and again, and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dawnie
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
nice taste. I rolled my sausage into balls as others suggested and added garlic. Yum! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
SUPER EASY, SUPER YUMMY! Will definately make this again. Unlike other soups, I didn't need to add any salt to this recipe! I did however, add a little fresh garlic, just because I love garlic, and it was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
love it! So easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee Oseguera

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mb
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Very good! I happened to have venison sausage so I made it with that. If I was using Italian pork sausage I probably would have omitted the olive oil. Followed directions pretty much to a tee, except added garlic to the sausage as well as some dried red pepper flakes, black pepper, oregano, and parsley. Added a little extra broth because I threw in pasta near the end. Definitely follow Melanie's instructions about making small meatballs out of the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Port Jervis, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Very good, but if you like it spicy use Mild Italian Sausage to kick it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Pretty good soup! I didn't use any oil, I just put some sliced up sausage in the pot with a little water to begin with. I took the advice of other reviews and added garlic. A huge elephant garlic clove, and used canned, diced tomatoes in place of tomato sauce. I also added some cayenne pepper and a little black pepper. I enjoyed it and so did my husband. I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I omitted the tomato sauce, and added a couple of cloves of garlic to the sausage and it was so delicious - my friend and her 2 year old daughter both loved it as well. Make sure you note Melanie's added instructions to pinch the sausage into small meatballs and fry in oil, also add a small pasta (I used tubettini) towards the end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States