Escarole and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
This was yummy and escarole and beans is one of my favorites! I followed the recipes as is, it was so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessika393

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I was skeptical about adding the liquid from the bean can, but decided to follow the recipe as written. It was delicious, very easy and well recieved by my DH. Next time I'll try adding the Trader Joe's Turkey meatballs for a full meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
We have this quite often -- it's a nice change of pace from potatoes or rice. Easy and healty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Galley Wench

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Delicious, I loved this. The only things that I did different was to add 2 cloves of minced garlic, and to drain and rinse the white beans. I know that the juice in the can lends to the "creamy" texture, but I didn't want all of that sodium and starchy liquid. Very tasty and healthy, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This is an excellent recipe! So easy!!! I made it twice the way it is, and once I substituted swiss chard for escarole - still great! Of course, always cut leaves in the large pieces and cook 1 head of escarole first, transfer to a plate and cook second one. While beans cook, you'll have just enough time to prepare greens, and they won't overflow or stick to the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Loved it..It took me back to childhood..Mom use to make all the time...I added some small sausage meatballs..it was a complete meals..thanks i'll make over and over again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daveycooks
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Awesome and homey. This is just great comfort food. It will accompany any dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
One of my favorite meals. Add red pepper to taste, some like it spicy, some mild. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I'm not sure - wait for dinner tonight! BUT, don't cook escarole in oil in a large frying pan - it needs a DEEP pan. I cut up the escarole in large pieces, discarding the bitter white base, but it overflowed the frying pan. While I was trying to stir it down, pieces flying all over the stove, the bottom started scorching. After digging out the really burnt pieces, I added a little water, simmered it until tender (all on VERY LOW heat.) Next came the beans. Being starchy, they also started to stick to the bottom of the new, clean pan - but I kept stirring. I didn't know if they should turn to mush or keep their bean shape. Anyway, I eventually combined the escarole and the beans, according to the recipe. It doesn't exactly look like the picture. Now I have to see if his honour eats it tonight with relish (his, not the kind in a jar.) I know I will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Always excellent...BE SURE to cut off the tough stems and cut the escarole in smaller pieces. Try cutting up pieces of pepperoni in it WOW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States