Escarole and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I really liked this recipe, It brought me back to my childhood. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Great recipe. This was a go to inexpensive meal when I was growing up. My mom made it the same way as this recipe and it is great. However, she sometimes made it with crushed tomatoes, added some sliced sausage and small pasta (ditallini). I slow cook the recipe with the additions in a crock pot. It's the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stan K
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I liked this quite a bit. I forgot the parsley but didn't miss it. I doubled the garlic and added a little garlic powder to the beans as well. I used beans I cooked from dried, so instead of juice from the cans I used a little vegetable broth. My beans were not as cooked as canned beans are, that and with the broth I didn't get the creamy texture everyone described. I only had a little escarole so I used 1 part escarole, 2 parts curly endive. I used just a little salt and white pepper as well. It exceeded expectations! Very good and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Donald, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly but did chop the escarole and would recommend chopping very fine. A delicious meal! It is so creamy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barb57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Greene, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I love this... simple, tasty and healthy vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
It was great and easy to make. I added LOTS more garlic and no parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Just added more garlic and left out the parsley. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Loved this healthy side. Next time I may add more garlic. Loved the creamy texture. Don't drain the beans even though it is tempting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Smithtown, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This was soooo good! I was in a hurry & didn't quite go through all the steps listed here-I cooked the garlic (I too added more than specified, but I usually do) & red pepper flakes (doubled as well) with the escarole, then added the semi-rinsed beans to the pan, covered it & simmered for the 10 minutes. I partially rinsed the beans & used water to broth it up, to decrease the starchiness a bit, though I may try it with the full liquid from the bean can next time. It will be a part of my recipe box for a long time to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This was very very good...I enjoy the slightly bitter taste of escarole so it was delish Nice with alfredo pasta it brightened up the meal .Thanks for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rocky Point, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States