Escarole and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Can you say authentic? No need for two pans, I sautee the escarole with a chopped onion about 4 or 5 cloves of garlic, the salt and crushed red. Then I drain the beans and add them to the pot with a couple cups of chicken broth. I also add some browned bulk italian sausage for a complete meal. Oh so happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Tried to recreate an escarole and white bean pasta dish I had an italian restaurant. I love red sauce on my pasta but the combo of beans and escarole is so out of this world, that I didn't mind the absence of tomatoes. I gave this recipe 4 stars instead of 5 because I made a few adjustments. I made the dish with pasta. Boil and generously salt the pasta a few mins short of al dente. Set aside cup of pasta liquid, and drain and rinse pasta. I used only about 1 1/2 heads of escarole. Definitely trim the white ends of the escarole off. I upped the garlic to about 5, and then one more freshly grated garlic to mix into the dish at the end of cooking. I simmered the garlic until golden, added escarole, salted it. Then I took about a cup of pasta water, a cup of dry white wine, and about quarter cup of reserved bean liquid, cooked it down (leaving a little bit of liquid to mix and fully cook the pasta in the last step). (I wanted to also use chicken stock but was out. Next time I will try it with about a half cup of chicken stock). I threw in only one can of beans for a few mins, then throw in pasta (I used almost a whole 16 oz pkg of penne rigate). Top with some pecorino cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Extremely easy to make. Bought a bag of chopped escarole @ the store. Hardest part was mincing the garlic. One clove of garlic though? I put in an entire head! Helps to keep away vampires, gnats, and mosquitoes. My Italian wife was delirious with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Simple clean flavors. I too added veg broth to make it soup. We're about 90% vegan and this is a nice addition to our weeknight menus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHYNYNY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Delicious! Made exactly as written and it was a perfect side to veal roast. Great with crunchy bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MittiSmitti

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Great recipe!! Made very little changes to suit my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Excellent and easy. I did add a couple more cloves of garlic (I'm Italian, needs lots of garlic :)) I also made everything in a large wok. Sauteed the garlic in olive oil, broke the escarole up into pieces and mixed it in, once it softened down (about 8-10 minutes) I seasoned with the salt, pepper and red pepper flakes and mixed in the beans and let cook another 10 minutes or so as directed. Next time I may use 1.5 cans of beand depending on the size of the escarole..felt the two cans was a bit much for the 2 heads, but still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I really liked this recipe, It brought me back to my childhood. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Great recipe. This was a go to inexpensive meal when I was growing up. My mom made it the same way as this recipe and it is great. However, she sometimes made it with crushed tomatoes, added some sliced sausage and small pasta (ditallini). I slow cook the recipe with the additions in a crock pot. It's the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stan K
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I liked this quite a bit. I forgot the parsley but didn't miss it. I doubled the garlic and added a little garlic powder to the beans as well. I used beans I cooked from dried, so instead of juice from the cans I used a little vegetable broth. My beans were not as cooked as canned beans are, that and with the broth I didn't get the creamy texture everyone described. I only had a little escarole so I used 1 part escarole, 2 parts curly endive. I used just a little salt and white pepper as well. It exceeded expectations! Very good and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Donald, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States