Erin's Indonesian Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
This was great. I was concerned that the peanut butter would be overpowering (the smell was really strong) but the flavor was subtle. I sautéed the scallions and then added the chicken and sprinkled it with a little ginger as it cooked. I like my veggies firm, and the green beans were pretty soft so I will probably cut the steam time to ~5 minutes next time. Overall, an easy and tasty dish. Even my kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
Made this for dinner tonight. Turned out great! I really like the sauce. I will make it again. I didn't have any chili paste, but the sauce still turned out nice. I added some onion and red pepper strips. Very nice. Kids even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
I added some galangal for extra Indonesian flavoring with the sauce, and I cooked the sauce in with the chicken and green beans; these changes did not improve the taste. I also added chopped garlic. I was out if lime juice otherwise I would have substituted the lemon juice with lime juice. Instead of honey I probably would use kecap manis. Also instead of chili paste I would just chop either red or green bird's eye chili pepper and cook that in with the sauce. This didn't taste particularly Indonesian to me... Probably will not make again. All my suggested changes are basically similar to making authentic chicken satay, just minus the satay sticks and turning it into a stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I used a vegetarian chicken substitute and it was amazing. I thought it sounded bizarre at first, but it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Molly on the Buzz noted this recipe and I decided to try it. I did change it up by grilling boneless chicken breasts basting with some of the sauce and steamed broccoli instead of green beans. Placed the chicken on the rice, added broccoli all around and drizzled the sauce over everything. The sauce is really key and was very good! Thanks, we enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This was easy, and good, but it lacked the deep savory flavors of Asian dishes. Although the general population felt otherwise, I felt the peanut butter flavor was the front runner for flavor. I'm more a soy, sesame oil, garlic, sherry and black pepper girl. I did double the recipe and ate two small portions so it's not bad, I guess I expected more from the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinconning, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This was so yummy! After reading a lot of the comments it was obvious that its best to double the sauce. OMG the sauce! YUMMY!! I also added an extra tsp of chili paste. I didn't have green beans so I used what I had on hand. I heated 2 tsp of olive oil in a skillet and pan fried one small onion (sliced thinly) with one carrot cut into matchsticks, then added some half a small yellow zuchhini chopped in quarters and a small red pepper cut in thin strips. Cooked them partially then put aside. Once the chicken was almost cooked I added the vegetables and 1/2 cup of frozen peas (cooked for 30 seconds in microwave). Tossed it all together than added half the sauce. I served the remaining sauce on the side so that everyone could choose just how saucy they wanted it. Everyone said it was fabulous and asked if I could please make again. We loved the sauce so much that we are going to use it to baste skewers of pork and chicken on the BBQ this weekend! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Great dinner tonight! I made the rice in a steamer, rather than the stovetop. I browned the chicken, and added onion slices during the browning. I doubled the sauce since I had a 1.25 lbs. of chicken, and it was the right amount of sauce. Not having red chili paste, I used Sriracha Sauce in its place and it worked great. I added the optional crushed peanuts to mine, but skipped them on my husbands. He said twice during the meal, "This is a really good supper." I will be making this again and recommending it to my SIL. Thanks, ERINPETERSON, for sharing your favorite meal. It was very well received in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Not bad. Freezes and defrosts well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
My husband and I liked the sauce, but kids didn't. Didn't have any honey, so I used apple butter instead. Weird, I know. But it was good. Didn't have any chili paste; used a couple of dashes of ground cayenne pepper and red pepper flakes. I will make this again, fo sho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States