Erin's Indonesian Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I can't believe this got good ratings. The sauce is so watery that you can barely taste it, and I followed the recipe exactly. It would have been good if the chicken, green beans, and sauce were all cooked together and if the sauce was actually thick enough to stick to the food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slewis0054

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I love peanut-flavored dishes, but never knew how to make them until now. Easy. My grocery store didn't carry chili paste, so I tried chili sauce, but then after tasting the sauce, wanted it spicer with more "zing" so I used lots of hot sauce and doubled the lemon juice. I would suggest you follow the recipe; taste it; and then add whatever you think it needs (you may be happy without changing a thing!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I'm finally getting around to reviewing this. We love it! It is now a "regular" in our meal rotation. At some point I'm going to try it with tofu instead of chicken...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I am a big fan of peanut based sauces so I had to try this one. Overall I liked it, but there was something about the sauce that struck me a little off. I plan on trying some of the suggestions others have thrown out to improve upon it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
This was so good. I wasn't sure about adding the chicken to the peanut butter, so I just kept it to the side and dipped it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimminash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Don't get me wrong, I LOVE peanut butter.. but I did NOT love this recipe. I followed it exactly and it just tasted like chicken and green beans rolled in PB. My boyfriend thought it was ok, but I could barely eat it. It needs some drastic changes. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I followed the sauce recipe exactly & cooked the chicken in sesame oil instead of olive oil. The sauce thickened up nicely however the finished product needs some serious help. The lemon juice was very prominent, I did use fresh squeezed & that might have been part of the issue. My husband thought it was ok but I thought it tasted like chicken/green beans dipped in peanut butter mixed with lemon juice, not flavors that go well together. It stuck to my tongue & I couldn't finish. Next time I will use more broth & less peanut butter to thin it out a little, leave out the lemon juice, and maybe replace it with coconut milk, I'm not sure but this recipe needs to be changed before I could eat it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I modified the recipe as follows: instead of chicken chunks - butterflied chicken breasts completely in half. In the same skillet sauteed half of a sliced sweet onion, gave sweetness to counter pb, think pb&j (omitted green onion). Used angel hair pasta instead of rice. I also used asian sweet chili sauce instead of the paste. To serve, layer on each plate: pasta, green beans, chicken breast, onion, then drizzle with good amount sauce. Lovely presentation and wonderful mix of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I thought this recipe was fantastic and so authentic!! I will definitely make this again! Thanks, Erin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
So yummy! I doubled the recipe because we are a family of 6. I served the green beans on the side. Everyone wanted seconds! I will def. make this again =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States