Erin's Indonesian Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
This was one of the most delicious chicken recipes I have ever cooked. I added the chicken to the sauce and let them simmer together for 3 minutes to give the chicken more flavor. Snow peas and water chestnuts work also work really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa Green

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I was somewhat doubtful about the peanut butter in this recipe, but wow! it was just the right amount of peanutty flavor. I only made a couple small changes. I used lime instead of lemon and added half of it right before serving, and I didn't have any chile paste, so I used a combination of red chile flakes, cayenne, and tabasco. The sauce thickened really nicely but took more than 5 minutes. Yummy, I can't wait to eat the leftovers tomorrow. A definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This is going into our regular rotation! Good food and very easy to make. I made a few changes: I used broccoli instead of beans (to soak up the sauce), and also used regular chicken broth and soy sauce as I did not have low-sodium versions on hand-- it still wasn't salty at all! I nearly doubled the chili paste and still couldn't really detect any heat... next time I will use quite a bit more and will also use some broth to cook the chicken as opposed to the oil. As a last step I added the broccoli and sauce to the chicken and cooked for just a moment, which brought everything together very well. I had a little peanut sauce left over - it will be great for a snack with some shrimp chips! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SemantiTheft

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Baltimore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I modified this recipe by adding 2/3 can of coconut milk and fresh cilantro at the end. Servred over whole wheat couscous. Eccelctic mix of flavors that were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Despite a seemingly eclectic group of ingredients, this chicken is great! The whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOM2CUTIES
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This was absolutely delicious! I did not have any chili paste, but I substituted with 1 tsp chili powder. I had also used canned green beans and added them at the end, as the sauce was thickening. The whole meal was prepared in the one saute pan, instead of cooking the sauce separately. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOM2CUTIES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alliston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Even better the next day. Makes a great lunch for work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
So good... there's nothing more to say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Martinez, California, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This recipe was really, really good! I did change the recipe slightly... I know, it probably isn't right to give this recipe 5 stars if I changed it, but it was really good. I didn't have any chile paste, so I used tabasco sauce instead. The ingredients are fairly similar. I used about 1 1/2 teaspoons. I soaked the chicken (just to coat) in additional low sodium soy sauce before cooking (about 10 min.) and stir-fried it with 4 cloves of minced garlic and crushed red pepper to taste. I love garlic! I also used crunchy peanut butter and omitted the extra peanuts. I was afraid of adding too many peanuts (I've done that to Kung Pao Chicken before and it doesn't taste good!). The amount of "peanutty" taste was perfect. The only thing that I would do different next time I make this recipe is steam the green beans for about 7-8 minutes instead of 10. I overcooked them slightly... it was my fault because I should've been watching them as cooking times vary. Other than that, everything was delicious. Thanks for sharing, Erin. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Winchester, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
just wanted to put my two cents and let everyone know what a great simple recipe this is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States