Erin's Indonesian Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Molly on the Buzz noted this recipe and I decided to try it. I did change it up by grilling boneless chicken breasts basting with some of the sauce and steamed broccoli instead of green beans. Placed the chicken on the rice, added broccoli all around and drizzled the sauce over everything. The sauce is really key and was very good! Thanks, we enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This was easy, and good, but it lacked the deep savory flavors of Asian dishes. Although the general population felt otherwise, I felt the peanut butter flavor was the front runner for flavor. I'm more a soy, sesame oil, garlic, sherry and black pepper girl. I did double the recipe and ate two small portions so it's not bad, I guess I expected more from the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinconning, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This was so yummy! After reading a lot of the comments it was obvious that its best to double the sauce. OMG the sauce! YUMMY!! I also added an extra tsp of chili paste. I didn't have green beans so I used what I had on hand. I heated 2 tsp of olive oil in a skillet and pan fried one small onion (sliced thinly) with one carrot cut into matchsticks, then added some half a small yellow zuchhini chopped in quarters and a small red pepper cut in thin strips. Cooked them partially then put aside. Once the chicken was almost cooked I added the vegetables and 1/2 cup of frozen peas (cooked for 30 seconds in microwave). Tossed it all together than added half the sauce. I served the remaining sauce on the side so that everyone could choose just how saucy they wanted it. Everyone said it was fabulous and asked if I could please make again. We loved the sauce so much that we are going to use it to baste skewers of pork and chicken on the BBQ this weekend! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Great dinner tonight! I made the rice in a steamer, rather than the stovetop. I browned the chicken, and added onion slices during the browning. I doubled the sauce since I had a 1.25 lbs. of chicken, and it was the right amount of sauce. Not having red chili paste, I used Sriracha Sauce in its place and it worked great. I added the optional crushed peanuts to mine, but skipped them on my husbands. He said twice during the meal, "This is a really good supper." I will be making this again and recommending it to my SIL. Thanks, ERINPETERSON, for sharing your favorite meal. It was very well received in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Not bad. Freezes and defrosts well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
My husband and I liked the sauce, but kids didn't. Didn't have any honey, so I used apple butter instead. Weird, I know. But it was good. Didn't have any chili paste; used a couple of dashes of ground cayenne pepper and red pepper flakes. I will make this again, fo sho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I've got to agree with Maxween's review, this seriously just tastes like peanut butter covered chicken. All the ingredients that go into that sauce have their flavors completely annihilated by the peanut butter. I truly cannot recommend this recipe. I like chicken, I like peanut butter, I like rice, I like green beans. When you put them together, they form an ungodly mash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nubyrthe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Awesome. I doubled the sauce or we would have run out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
We really enjoyed this! I doubled the sauce as other have mentioned because I like it saucy. Next time I make it (and I will make again) I think I might add more/different vegetables. Mushrooms, broccoli, carrots might be a good addition. Thanks for sharing this super easy and tasty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I may have messed this up and added too much but all I tasted was peanut butter. The combination sounds great but I found the peanut butter drowned out the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States