Erin's Cheesy Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I had some fresh broccoli that was slightly yellowing and so I searched for the right soup recipe and found this one. It's GREAT! Only giving it 4 stars because I too made some slight modifications. First, I used half the amount of Cream Cheese (4 oz) and doubled the Cheddar Cheese (2 c) and used butter instead of margarine. Also, Step #2 should almost be Step #1 as the Cream Cheese takes a bit to melt down. I love another reviewer's suggestion to add White Pepper, I used Black Pepper because I was out of White and I also sprinkled in just a pinch of Garlic Powder. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachelle Ruhland Wirtzfeld
Home Town: Eden Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Very easy and delicious! I have to make a double batch so I can drop off some for my dad when I make it :) I'm allergic to corn products including cornstarch, so if I want it thicker I add potato flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Easy and amazing tasting. I have given it to many people who ask me for the recipe after raving about it. Sometimes I use vegetable stock (depends what I have on hand). I have also played with the amounts of cream cheese and cheddar cheese but only because it's what I have on hand. Amazingly enough this recipe is so good, it doesn't really matter when I have to change it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
OK....LOVED this soup!! Be patient though, I made a few incidental changes, due to lack of the proper ingredients at hand. I followed the recipe exactly....except, instead of cream cheese I used 8 oz of laughing cow (garlic/herb and French onion) and instead of the chicken bouillon, I used vegetable buollion....that's it, otherwise everything was the same. KIDS LOVED IT TOO!! Thank you for this recipe. It's in my saved folder now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
All I can say is YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Stinnett-Junkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This is excellent soup. Easy! Added some garlic but not much. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kimberly, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Extremely smooth and creamy. I cooked the broccoli in vegetable broth. I puréed the cooked broccoli and onions. Then I added the purée to the cream sauce In increments to achieve the consistency I wanted. When the cheese sauce seemed to stay lumpy, I put that in the food processors, and it turned smooth as silk A great result for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This is an excellent soup base. I did follow kayekrebs recommendations and think that this soup was pretty close to perfect. I served my soup with homemade sourdough pretzels. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ohatchee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
this soup is amazing!! I added lots of vegetables and some extra cheese. Making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Absolutely loved this recipe. I ended up using garden vegetable flavor cream cheese (which I had bought by mistake and thought I'd end up having to waste since I don't normally like this flavor). But, it was really great in this recipe! I used 4 bouillon cubes vs. the granules since that was what I had on hand and it worked out great. Whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States