Erin's Cheesy Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
My daughter and I LOVED this recipe. I did make a few changes due to lack of all of the ingredients and it turned out delicious. I only had 2% milk so I used all milk and no water. I didn't have any butter or cheddar cheese, so I added the rest of the cheese I did have on hand which was a couple slices of American cheese, a couple tablespoons of fresh parmesan and a couple tablespoons of mozzarella. I also added about a half package of dry Knorr vegetable soup mix. I also pureed the onions and the broccoli hoping maybe my hubby would eat it, but that was a no go (unfortunately he doesn't eat many veggies at all so I wasn't surprised). It was so delicious! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lappymae
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
So perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I'm only rating this a 4 b/c it is VERY rich! I would cut back the butter & cream cheese by 1/3. Per another review, I too sautéed the onion. 1 celery, 2 garlic, 2 shallots, & 2 carrots; then added flour & cooked a bit. Thin out with broth from broccoli water. Add milk to broccoli. Add onion mixture to broccoli. Melt cream cheese & cheddar cheese in soup. Added red pepper flakes & Siracha for a bit more flavor. Very good! Serve with crusty sour dough bread & a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie
Home Town: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Super delicious! I already had some broccoli and cauliflower on hand that I had roasted in the oven, so I did this a bit differently. First started with just a few tablespoons of butter which I melted. Then stirred in two tablespoons of flour and stirred for a few minutes. Then added the milk...stirred some more. Once milk was warm, stirred in cream cheese. When smooth, added the broccoli and cauliflower which I chopped up pretty fine using my food processor. Then added chicken broth. Skipped the cheddar cheese because I thought it was super deliciou without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This was delicious! I was glad to find a broccoli cheese soup without Velveeta. Even my toddler, who hadn't shown any interest in broccoli before, ate it and liked it. Definitely a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
We loved it. I like it because it was easily made,and made with cream cheese. Great meal with just adding a loaf of bread. This is my new cream broccoli cheese soup recipe, and I have already sent it to a friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Excellent!! Best broccoli cheddar soup yet!! Sautéed onions in butter and a couple of crushed garlic cloves, then added flour, milk, 1/2 brick cream cheese and 1/2 large brick of old cheddar and about 1/2 cup shredded Balderson cheese....boiled broccoli in chicken stock then added to cheese mixture. Everyone had seconds. Will defiantly make again and again Thaks for a delicious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Just tried this! delicious!! I used three bunches of broccoli because I had them and four cups of stock instead of three to compensate. yummmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
It's a good start. A little bit too much cream cheese for my taste had to add some herbs and cayenne to cut the taste of the cream cheese a bit. If I make it again, I will cut the cream cheese in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I guarantee this will be one of the best broccoli cheddar soups you will ever make! Add a couple of garlic cloves to the veggie mixture before boiling and some bacon bits to the creamy mixture then blend both pots together with and emersion blender! Serve in bread bowls and you will surely be overly impressed with this meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States